RSS Feed

My new life

Posted on

Not only am I a new blogger on this site, but I recently started a new life. Although I’m not sure yet what format my blog is going to take, I’m sure a big part of it will contain some of the joys and frustrations of a new life, in a new place, with new people.

I moved 2 months ago from a relatively busy place (Hartbeespoort) very close to Pretoria and Johannesburg (2 of the biggest and more well-known cities in South Africa), to a small rural town where I know very few people. Why, I hear you ask? Well, because of LOVE, of course! πŸ™‚

So here I am, in this new town called Nylstroom, and I’m trying to find a niche for myself and a few new friends will be welcome too!

A long-standing dream of my boyfriend was to get some cattle for a small farm he has outside of Nylstroom, and on Monday his dream came true.

Now we have 8 pregnant cows and 2 calves and we are very excited about that! The scary thing is that neither of us know a whole lot (nothing) about being cattle farmers, but surely it can’t be to hard? I mean they eat grass, right? And we’ve got more than enough of that! πŸ˜‰ Β Only joking – we’ll have to learn as we go along and maybe there are a few fellow bloggers with more knowledge who can give us a few helpful hints.

In the evening we went out to the farm to see if the cows and calves have calmed down after the move, and we had this absolutely amazing sunset that I just had to capture, and now I just have to share it. On our tiny little piece of land, we’ve had quite a few unforgettable moments, and this was definitely one of those.

Well, that is a whole lot of changes I have to cope with – from city gal to country bumpkin, from being surrounded by friends to knowing hardly anyone, from estate agent to farmer… Phew! Forgive me if in future I cry a little on your shoulders…

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

21 responses »

  1. Yaaaaaaaaaaaaay!!!! πŸ˜€ **

    Reply
  2. Great sunset image πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. Hi Zelmare,

    Welcome back to the world of blogging. A new life can be scary and exciting but always worth trying. I would advise taking a look at Windows Live Writer, it will link to WordPress and make blogging much easier. I have a blog on WordPress.com and a new one that I just started – http://azillionideas.com and it’s links to both fairly successfully.

    Reply
    • Hi Mike! I agree that one should always try to make a success of a new life, go for it with all you’ve got! Thank you for the welcome and thanks for the advice.:)

      Reply
  4. Hi Zelmare, it’s so nice to meet you. I’m a country bumpkin at heart stuck in the suburbs. I’ll trade places with you, well except for the boyfriend part. After so many years with Sweet Hubs, I don’t think I could deal with anyone new. But the rest of it I would love.

    So, how do I know you? Through your amazing daughter. She is totally awesome and I look forward to every one of her posts. When she recommends a new blog I “follow.” πŸ˜‰

    Glad you are back to blogging, I’m still learning the ropes and enjoying every minute of it.

    πŸ˜€

    Reply
    • Hi there, so nice to meet you! I have to agree – I’ve got an awesome daughter! πŸ™‚
      I’m glad to be back, although at the moment I’m really still feeling my way around and as such I’m not communicating too comfortably, but I’ll get there, I hope. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  5. Zelmare, I just saw you lost a post. You might try looking in your trash or drafts on WordPress. I had that happen also, redid, and a month or so later found the place to retrieve lost files. It’s worth a try.

    Reply
  6. Although it can be daunting at first, change is invigorating and good for the soul… it proves to yourself how strong, adaptable and resilient you really are! Great that you have a special life partner and fabulous daughter to share your latest journey – ain’t love grand?!
    Susie πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Hi Susie!
      Thank you for visiting my blog.:)

      This was a scary change, but I feel that it was one I needed to make. So, here I am. I’ve had to face some challenges already,and no doubt there will be some more, but I do believe I’ll be able to cope. We do a lot for love, don’t we? But in the end it is worth it! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  7. I came over from your daughter’s blog and couldn’t help smiling (we have the same blog theme! haha!) Great pictures – have you had any calves born yet?

    Lizzy x

    Reply
    • πŸ™‚ Great minds and all that…
      Hi, so nice to meet you! No, we’re waiting anxiously for the first ‘baby’ to be born – I must admit that even though the cows came with 2 calves, I can’t wait for ‘our’ first one to be born. I will surely write about it when it happens. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  8. Hi Zelmare,
    Your lovely daughter Xandre told us about you. As a mom who also has a daughter blogging…I just had to come here! I love your blog and the way you write! Your sunset photo is fantastic! I will surely be back!
    Judy

    Reply
    • Good morning Judy!
      Yes, my darling girl spread the word! And I’m grateful to her for making it easier for me to meet new friends. Thank you for visiting, and thank you for the compliments! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  9. Love the photos. I wish you the best!

    Reply
  10. Hi Zelmare – Great photos and post! Scary changes – but exciting and invigorating – enjoy every minute of them!

    I did work with cows on a dairy farm during one summer break from University in my younger days, but I seemed to spend all of my time either feeding them or mucking them out, which is not helpful to you in any way! Sorry! I did enjoy working on the farm though!

    Strange that I ended up teaching!

    Cheers

    John

    Reply
    • Hi John! Thank you. Yes, I’m facing challenges everyday…not sure I always enjoy them, though…

      Well, we’ll just have to learn by trial and error, and hopefully we don’t lose any cows or calves along the way! πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

