RSS Feed

Falling in love with the farm.

Posted on

I first ‘met’ the farm two years ago. It was love at first sight! ๐Ÿ™‚

As I told you before, I’m a city girl ย born and raised, and I never had any wish to live on a farm. But when I saw this small piece of land in the Waterberg area in the province of Limpopo, there was just something about it that tugged at my heart strings. And although we don’t live there, we are busy building a tiny cottage there so we can sometimes stay there for the weekend. We go there often to watch the sunset, or just to relax a little bit and hear the silence.

To me it is beautiful and I feel totally at peace when I’m there. I think that is the main reason I love it so much – the peace…

Nylsvlei

This is one of the very first photographs I ever took on the farm – I actually think it was taken the first time I was there.

Dead tree in the veld

Maybe as I show you more and more of our farm, you might get an idea of why I feel like I do. If you don’t get it, that’s also OK, because then you’ll at least have seen a small part of this side of the world! ๐Ÿ™‚

Until next time, keep well!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

16 responses »

  1. Mooi phodies mami!! Love jou wolke!! ๐Ÿ˜‰ **

    Reply
  2. Oh, that does look totally peaceful, and with the crazy, stressful world that we live in nowadays, I think it is so important to have a place of peace to retreat to! From the photos so far, I can see why you love it there. By the way, that tree in the second photo has such great character! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  3. Zelmare….I love the clouds in your photos! They are wonderful….especially the ones in the first photo. I love the second photo with the solitary tree and the clouds there too. I can see why you love it. It has big open spaces and the sky looks so large! It reminds me of Montana in the US…they nicknamed it “Big Sky Country”. It looks peaceful and serene too. Great post!

    Reply
    • Hi Judy! Thank you! Yes, I’ve heard of Montana and seen something of it over the years (albeit only in movies and on TV!), would love to visit it one day. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  4. The calm of a farm is evident in the photos. The tree is magnificent. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply
  5. That first photo, the clouds, OMG they are amazing. Do you get clouds like that there a lot? I love photos of clouds.

    Reply
    • Yes, we’re lucky, we get the most amazing clouds here, and I’m also a huge cloud lover.You’ll see clouds in a lot of my pictures. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
    • Hahaha…. you and your clouds Leanne!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰ But I must say… I think it’s high time I get working on my clouds folder… ๐Ÿ™‚ they’ve certainly helped you a lot!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ **

      Reply
      • Hahaha, you do know me. I think you could get a much better cloud folder than me. Can I give you one bit of advice, which is something I didn’t do and really need to do, make sure you take the photos in both portrait mode and landscape mode.

  6. Hi Zelmare – Great photographs! I particularly like the second one!

    Cheers

    John

    Reply

Leave a Reply

