RSS Feed

Not a biology lesson!

Posted on

Let’s solve the mystery for those of you who didn’t know what my creature is – it is a dung beetle. A very interesting creature, I might add.ย I’m not going to give you a biology lesson (way too boring!), I’m just going to mention a few of the most pertinent facts.

There are around 5000 different species of this beetle, and they are found on all continents except Antarctica. They prefer not to live in extreme cold or very dry conditions (makes sense to me! ๐Ÿ˜‰ ).

Those that eat only dung (some of them eat mushrooms and other plant material ) don’t need anything else, not even water – the dung provides them with all the nutrients they need. They can roll up to 50x their weight – aside from eating it, they also need the dung ball for brooding chambers.

They play a remarkable roll in agriculture by consuming and burying the dung balls, they improve nutrient recycling and soil structure.

Several species of scarab ( ahaaaaaa! I know the first thing that sprang toyour mind is the movie ‘ The Mummy’!) enjoyed sacred status among Ancient Egyptians.

If you are interested to know more, go check out the Wikipedia site – very interesting.

Do you think there’s a lesson for humans in there…somewhere? Something like good things can come out of bad? Or if you look hard enough, there must be something positive in a whole heap of apparently bad stuff? I don’t know, I’m just thinking out loud… ๐Ÿ˜‰

 

I want to leave you with an image that can get the one of the sci-fi creature out of your mind, so here’s something totally different, and not at all related to my blog. This was the first time I used the ‘scene’ setting on my camera, after my darling daughter showed and explained it to me (about 3 years ago, while we were away for the weekend.)

Berries

 

Until the next time we chat, keep well! ๐Ÿ™‚

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

10 responses »

  1. Hhhhmmmmm … Very interesting!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Macro/scene mode?? Ek onthou die phodie… dis Dullstroom ne?? ๐Ÿ˜‰ **

    Reply
  2. Ah. Good to see my guess was correct. Also good to see what part they play in the ecology of the world. Thanks.

    Reply
  3. I have always thought dung beetles were native to Africa, I wonder what they are called here in Australia.

    Reply
    • I was also surprised to realize how wide-spread they are. Would be interesting to know what name they go by in Aus. If you do find out, please let me know. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

