RSS Feed

Cloud 9

Posted on

Two of my blog friends expressed the same fascination and love for clouds that I have. And yesterday, as I was looking through my photo’s for something to post on my beetle- blog, I realized how many pictures I’ve got with clouds featuring prominently, Β and I decided to do a cloud-blog today.

Sunset clouds, sunrise clouds, storm clouds, cold front clouds, they are all there! πŸ™‚ These photographs have been taken over a few years (the ones shown here are from 2008 to now), not from the viewpoint of a photographer (which I’m not!), but just as a very enthusiastic cloud lover, Β and even more enthusiastic picture -taker, Β so please don’t expect masterpieces!

I’m starting off with this very weird picture of Β something I’ve never seen before – the actual edge of a cold front moving in over the area. To me this was worth a few pics, although they are far from special as far as photographs go! (I don’t even know if one could call this a cloud?) πŸ™‚

Cold Front

This next picture was taken one evening on the way home. I had just picked my son up from rugby practice and when I saw these clouds I literally stopped next to the road to quickly take some pictures.

Silver lining

The next few were taken at home. I would be busy doing whatever, and I would look outside and see a storm brewing, or the sun catching clouds in a certain way at sunset, and I would grab my camera and run outside and madly snap away!

Quirky clouds

Storm and sunset

Another sunset

I’ve got another pic taken from this same spot, but it is SO different, SO dramatic and intense, that I decided to do that one on its own in a future blog.

I’ve been sifting through all my pictures for the best part of this afternoon, so I’ve decided to finish off with this next picture, which, OF COURSE, was taken on the farm just over a week ago. It was at dusk, on the day that we off-loaded our Β cows, and I loved the soft, peaceful feel this picture has, even though it is probably the least ‘picturesque’ of them all! πŸ™‚

Farm cloud

Whatever you see here, has not been edited in any way (except for their size), as I don’t have Photoshop or anything like that.

I am melting in intense heat, and I’m fervently wishing for some clouds gathering right now, bringing the mother of all storms, so we can just cool off a little bit!

Until next time, if I haven’t melted completely into a puddle, keep well!!! πŸ˜€

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

25 responses »

  1. I also love clouds!! They add so much character (and not just in photos!)

    Reply
  2. I really like the second last one! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. god I miss African skys and huge storm fronts and proper make you wet rain that smells of electricity

    Reply
    • I must say that if I had to go live in another country, that would be one of the things I’d miss too. I love the late afternoon Highveld thunderstorms! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  4. Also guilty… cloud lover!!!! πŸ˜€ Love the cold front…. never seen anything like it (on photo or real life!!!) …. al the other also gorgeous!!! πŸ™‚ **

    Reply
  5. I’m passionate about clouds, sky, sunrise, sunsets, storms but your cold front knocked my socks off. It looks like you are being invaded by aliens, so scary!!

    It doesn’t take a thunder storm here to create rain and deluges, it just falls out of the sky on a regular basis. I snapped way too many photos last evening of the soft pink, blue and grey of our sunset. And the night before many photos of stormy looking clouds all dark and enough light grey to get some very good silhouettes of the trees..

    Reply
    • πŸ™‚ I just told my daughter that it felt like an alien invasion! It was unreal, as there was also this silence and the cold…
      I hope we see some of your cloud photographs soon. I love the soft colours, but the angry storm clouds really get to me! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  6. Please include me in the cloud lover club. Beautiful photos!!

    Reply
  7. Wow, that cold front coming in is amazing. I have never seen anything like that. I really like that last one too. If you were into editing, that could be an amazing image.
    Thank you so much for sharing your clouds with me. I have done some posts on clouds too, if you want to see them, let me know I will send you some links.
    I tend to take cloud images with nothing else in the shot if I can, because then I use the clouds for photos where the sky is crap and I replace it, like this one.
    http://leannecolephotography.com/2012/02/14/a-mishmash/scaustin-hdr2/
    Looking forward to seeing more.

    Reply
  8. How much I miss my time in South Africa… thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

    Reply
  9. Oh my gosh Zelmare…I love your clouds!! They are stunning! At first I thought the top photo had a mountain in it! πŸ˜‰ Wow…I’m impressed with your photography! (and your cloud sense!!)

    Reply
  10. Hi Zelmare – I just love the first photograph – never seen anything like it before! The front looks like a solid mass ready to cover up the Earth and plunge it into darkness! I also like the way the Sun’s rays are peeking out from behind the clouds in the second photograph! Like all of your cloud photographs, Zelmare! You know, it must be a climate thing! You and Xandre live in what is essentially a hot country and you like the rain! We live in a country where it is more often cold than warm, and we get so much cloud and rain that we don’t like it! For us…it’s bring on the Sun and the heat!! That is why I take most of my photographs on blue sky and fluffy white cloud days! My sister, Jane, who lives in Perth, Australia says that in their summer months people spend most of the daytime in air conditioning because it is so hot! I assume you have to do that as well, or having just moved in, and melting, maybe you don’t have any yet?

    Cheers

    John

    Reply
    • Hi John! Thanks for stopping by! And thanks for the kind comments. We actually had an air-con installed a week ago! I don’t keep it on the whole day, as we spend a lot of time outside and electricity is very expensive here. It may very well be a climate thing, but most of our compatriots love the sun and the heat – Xan and I are considered freaks because we love cloudy weather! πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

