RSS Feed

Different Perspective

Posted on

****Firstly, thank you Judy for nominating me for the Candle Lighter Award. It was completely unexpected, and wholly appreciated. **** πŸ™‚

On Friday I was feeling a bit frustrated. My house was full to overflowing and I felt like I couldn’t breathe properly. So after migrating from lounge, to bedroom, to kitchen, I went outside, took one of the cushions off a patio chair, and lay down on the grass. On my back.

At first, as I lay there, I saw nothing, heard nothing. I just breathed as deeply as I possibly could. But slowly I started noticing things. The first thing I saw was, of course, the flimsy clouds high above. πŸ™‚ I noticed how white they were against the bright blue sky. They were subtly changing shape as I lay there watching. Wisps of cloud would detach itself from the mama cloud, drift a bit and re-attach itself again (as if they just cannot let go of Mom’s apron strings), changing and shifting all the time. Softly, and gently.

Then I suddenly saw swallows in the air with the clouds. Tiny black specks against the white and blue of the sky. They were darting all over the place. Diving downwards, rolling, tumbling, shooting back upwards, frolicking like they had no care in the world. (Which of course they don’t, being swallows, but it sounded good… πŸ™‚ Β )

There was nothing similar between the clouds and the birds, in fact the differences and contrast couldn’t have been bigger, but overall they had exactly the same effect on me. It relaxed me, calmed me down and made me smile!

I lay there for quite a while, turning my head in all directions to try and take in everything around me. I rolled my head right back and looked at the trees and clouds behind me – upside down, of course! And wow! How gorgeous seeing the world from that perspective! The world on its head – imagine that!

I know – you are shaking your head, muttering under your breath about this crazy person doing things kids don’t even do anymore… That’s OK, because that is exactly my point!

When last did you do something as simple, and as ‘eccentric’ as that? Can you remember how it made you feel? I cannot remember the last time I did that, and I cannot explain to you the difference it’s made to my mood – it lifted me waaaaaaaay up! πŸ˜€

Go on, try it sometime. I dare you.

The world on its head!

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

12 responses »

  1. Congrats Mammie!! πŸ™‚ **

    Reply
  2. Congrats! I love taking time out and taking in my surroundings.

    Reply
  3. Beautiful post, and I don’t think it’s strange at all. I often sit or lay outside in the summertime and drink in my surroundings (including the clouds). It’s good for you to “stop and smell the roses” once in a while. Oh, and congrats on your award – well deserved!!

    Reply
  4. Not weird at all. I sometimes muck around with my teenage girls, I’m sure people think I’m being crazy, but it makes me feel good, and if it makes you feel good then surely it can’t be wrong.
    Congrats on the award.

    Reply
    • Fortunately I’m at the age anyway where what people think doesn’t reaaaaaallly matter, if, like you say, it makes me feel good, then it works for me… πŸ™‚ Thank you!

      Reply
  5. Congrats on the award, Zelmare! I am very like the others who have commented on your post, in that I take time to just stop, look and enjoy the world around me! You are absolutely correct though; there are too many people who rush around and never stop and just don’t see any of it! I also still do daft childish things, even though I have now retired from being a teacher and the principal of a Primary School! Working with children is a real privilege! It keeps that childish ability within you alive, and sometimes you just have to do the daft things that they do! My other half, Penny, is also a Primary School teacher and you ought to see the really daft, childish things we get up to just as a piece of fun! Lovely post, Zelmare!

    Cheers

    John

    Reply
    • Hi John!

      Isn’t it weird how we lose the playfulness (and natural inquisitiveness) as we grow older, and then we sometimes consciously have to find ‘our inner child’ again when we are middle aged, seriously unhappy adults?

      I am one of those adults that have to keep reminding myself that there is more to life than worrying about the future and finances, so I thought if I reminded other people, I might remember to take a deep breath every once in a while! πŸ™‚
      Bye for now!
      Zelmare

      Reply
  6. You know, we do have things in common! lol I like to take my porch swing cushion and plop down in the grass, in the woods, even at night to look at the stars. It’s a great photography tip, Zelmare! Early in my blog I suggested people look at the ground for photo-ops. But the opposite is true too!
    I’ve taken a lot of photos flat on my back! πŸ˜‰
    Your photo is great…love the tree, and of course, the clouds!
    Congrats on your award! You certainly deserve it!

    Reply
    • πŸ™‚ I think you should come over for coffee! I must say that lying on my back taking pictures was a first (I’ve wanted to do it lying under the Eiffel Tower, but I never did!) I’ve taken lots lying on my stomach, though… πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by, Judy!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

