RSS Feed

Weekend Breakaway

Posted on

This past weekend my significant other and I took a quick break. Unfortunately for him, the break came about because he had work to do down in Kwazulu-Natal, but fortunately for me, he decided to take me along and stay a day or two longer than was necessary. πŸ™‚

We booked a place in a seaside village called Umtentweni, and we were very pleasantly surprised by both the cottage we stayed in and the village itself. (Neither of us have been there before.) The cottage was right on the sea, and it was pretty and clean and I’d love to go back there sometime.

The highlight though, was Sunday. When we woke up, it was dark with clouds and it had started raining. I was smiling broadly, as this is perfect weather, as far as I’m concerned! (Crazy considering we were at the beach! πŸ™‚ Β ) Β I was busy reading a magazine, and there was an article in it about Oribi Gorge – a place I’ve heard of, but never been to. I realized that it was only about 25 km from where we were staying, so we decided to go and ‘explore’. I’m very glad we went, as the scenery was spectacular! I’ll let some of the photographs I took, speak for itself.

The waterfall is just a trickle, as it was a very dry season.

 

Beautiful!

 

More beauty.

 

Suspension bridge over very narrow part of the gorge.

 

Taken from the bridge.

 

Taken straight down from the bridge. It doesn't show how high it really is!

 

A dead tree lying precariously over the precipice. Also from the bridge.

 

A different angle from the other side of the gorge, with river snaking below.

 

A combination of textures.

 

I thought I'd finish off with this picture taken from the cottage, early Monday morning, just before we left.

 

I had a hard time selecting pictures for this post, and still it is overly long. I’m sure some of the pictures I haven’t used, will sneak into future posts… πŸ™‚

Until next time, keep well!!! πŸ™‚

 

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

25 responses »

  1. Sjoe mami…. Dis freaken mooi!!!! Rerig asemrowend mooi!!! πŸ˜€ Dink ons moet ook iewers ‘n draai daar gaan maak – eendag wanneer ek weer geld het!!! πŸ˜€ **

    Reply
  2. Ah what a wonderful place for a breakaway!

    Reply
  3. Now that’s a place I would love to visit. Absolutely breathtaking photos!! Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. Thanks for sharing the photos from your breakaway! Loved it!

    Reply
  5. Unreal scenery… I wish I was there with my camera πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  6. Looks like an amazing place. Looks like it was fate, looking at the magazine when you were only 25kms away. The photos are great, really gives you a sense of the place. I love the view from your cottage.

    Reply
  7. Wow that is gorgeous and time very well spent. πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing the pictures-I enjoyed them all and look forward to seeing the rest in your future posts.

    Reply
  8. Very lovely scenery and photos. There are areas in Oregon along gorges that have some amazing similarities especially the depth of them and the amazing rock formations. The trees and foliage are probably not the same varieties we have, but from the photos it is only pretty green shapes, which is what we get in our photos as well. πŸ˜‰

    Thanks for sharing. πŸ˜€

    Reply
  9. A holiday by the salty sea just can’t be bettered! Thank you for sharing your special break away…
    Susie πŸ™‚

    Reply
  10. beautiful holiday! Lovely view from the porch, what a nice place! The day-trip you took was great. I love all the textures from the rocks, to the bridge, to the trees. The trees have delicate, soft coloring…very nice. And the misty, low-hanging clouds give a mysterious effect to the photos. All in all, a very good choice! And I love your photos!

    Reply
    • Hi Judy! I somehow missed this comment – I’m so sorry! It was the nicest little place to stay – comfortable and cute! I absolutely loved the day trip – I’m glad you enjoyed the pictures! thank you!:)

      Reply
  11. absolutely stunning scenery! Makes you stop and stare πŸ™‚

    https://blog.freddieandcinnamon.com

    Reply
  12. What a super place, Zelmare! Did you cross the suspension bridge because it looks a bit ‘ropey’ to me! If you did, you were very brave! I am just starting to catch up with your posts so bear with me with the overdue comments!

    Cheers

    John

    Reply
    • It really was worth the effort to go there. Yes, I did cross the bridge – the 3 pictures after the picture of the bridge was taken from the bridge.It was sturdy, although it moved quite a lot while a person is on it. I would definitely not recommend it to anyone with a fear of heights! πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

