RSS Feed

I need…

Posted on

I had several ideas for a post today, but as it is Friday, I didn’t want to get too philosophical, or too preachy, and I didn’t think anybody feels like learning something new right now, so I discarded them all. (For now… you’ll have to suffer through all of that next week!) πŸ™‚

One thing I noticed as I was thinking about what to write/post, was that I kept looking at my travel photographs. I discovered a need within myself…

I need to get on a plane soon, and do some travelling, or I will not be held responsible for my actions! I need to do something exciting soon, or I might combust spontaneously.

I’m not ungrateful. I know my significant other was a darling last week to take me away for the weekend. And I loved it. But it is not the same as TRAVELLING! Travelling involves visas, and planning for months, and packing and unpacking and re-packing, and then getting on a plane, and jetting off into the wide, blue yonder… Β And getting off the plane in a place where you can understand nobody, and nobody understands you – especially if you speak Afrikaans! πŸ˜‰

And unfortunately for us South Africans, travelling involves a lot of money…

So until we can get around to the real thing again, you might have to listen to my whining every once in a while, and look at some of my ancient pictures.

Since it’s weekend (I know I said that before), and since I stopped myself from getting philosophical, you have to forgive me if Β I end on a slightly spiritual note.

Eight years ago, my daughter and I went to Europe. It was one of the best times in my life, and some of the places we saw had a real emotional effect on me. One of these was the Melk Abbey in Austria. It is indescribable, so I’m not even going to try, but it is something out of this world.

This picture is of the main dome (cuppola) of the abbey. If you look very closely, you’ll see a dove right at the very top, at the very centre of the dome. That symbolises the Holy Spirit.

Melk Abbey Dome

 

Before I turn this into a long winded trip down memory lane, I’m going to say goodbye. All I basically wanted to do, was to wish you a wonderful, blessed weekend! πŸ™‚

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

20 responses »

  1. Oi… so amper of ek begin sommer huil hier by my lessenaar…. het hierdie photo’q al lekker ge-edit… & wou dit al vele kere post… nou weet ek hoekom ek nog nie het nie… Dis awesome special mami!!! πŸ™‚ ❀ **

    Reply
    • Ai Pop, my emosies is wankelrig, jy moenie dit aan my doen nie! πŸ™‚ Dankie meisiekind. Ons sal dalk dikwels dieselfde goed post/wil post, maar dis net omdat ons so dieselfde voel oor sekere goed. πŸ™‚ xxx

      Reply
  2. Very nice! I know about what you mean when you say you need to travel, but for me, it doesn’t have to involve a plane or visa, just going somewhere I have never been before does the trick.

    Reply
    • It’s just that there are so many places to see, and so little time! I am crazy about really old places where you can walk in the streets and feel the ghosts of times gone by… But I also enjoy seeing new places, like I did last weekend. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  3. I thought I was the only one! I’m going through the same thing! I need to get on a plane soon or I’ll lose my mind! Have a great Friday!

    Reply
    • Hi May! I also thought I was alone (well, I knew my daughter at least felt the same way!), but it seems there are quite a lot of people in the same boat! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  4. Ah I hope you get to travel soon!

    Reply
  5. Oh, i want to travel very badly too, but that darn lack of money thing keeps getting in the way!! One day……

    Reply
  6. I wasn’t sure I found the dove, but there are some gray pixels in the center that could be a dove. It’s a lovely picture. Where was it taken?

    My “traveling” has been accomplished by the photos posted by folks around the world. Some on vacation, some on assignment, and some who live in an amazing world I have never seen. So for now, I content myself with a vision into your world. πŸ˜€

    Someday dreams of travel when I’m rich, and not tied to a job. πŸ˜‰

    Since I am on the opposite side and end of the world from you, this is Friday morning Mar 9, and I am at work.

    Reply
    • I think that is one of the reasons I enjoy blogging so much – I get to see parts of the world I probably never will in real life!
      Yes, I think you’ve located the dove. The other amazing thing (to me) is that the rest of the dome is extremely elaborate, but the small dome with the dove is exactly the opposite.
      Anyway, since it is Sat.morning here, you are probably asleep or getting ready for bed, so have a good rest! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  7. Travelling is also very expensive from here. We spent some time in Denmark many years ago and it always amazed us how you could go to another country for the day, such a strange concept.
    Just because you don’t have money doesn’t mean you can’t start planning, does it? Plan a holiday and tell us about it.

    Reply
    • Yes, that is like a dream! Friends of ours lived in Vienna for 7 years, and every time I heard from them, they were on their way to holiday in Italy, or France, or Iceland, etc. !!!
      We started planning a holiday in Spain, but it is sort of pointless if you can’t follow through at some time… But, I am definitely still dreaming about it, and positive that it is going to happen! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  8. I definitely understand how expensive it is for you guys to leave your part of the world… it cost me an arm & a leg to make it down to South Africa… but I would do it again in a heart beat if time allowed πŸ™‚ Have a great weekend from sunny San Diego πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • I must say that for other people it may seem like a waste of money, but I will also plan a trip the moment I have enough money, rather than anything else. πŸ™‚ Thanks! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  9. Beautiful, gorgeous photo, Zelmare! It was 7 years ago my daughter and I traveled to Paris together and had the most memorable time, too. A year later she was married. I treasure that time we had together!
    I understand about traveling. It’s hard when I see people post such lovely photos from all over the world. I get “itchy” to go someplace too. But sometimes weekend or week-long trips are great, even if they are in our own country. I’ve been craving another European trip for years…but I can’t handle the expense right now, so we’re sticking to the US this year.

    Reply
  10. Thank you, Judy! You’ve got it exactly… Like I said, I’m not ungrateful and I enjoy seeing new places locally, but the moment I can scrape enough money together, I’m buying a plane ticket! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  11. Travel is fabulous and I can’t wait to go abroad again! I would love to see your previous travel photographs, Zelmare, because as others have said, it gives us a window on the world, allows us to share places and our experiences, and gives good ideas for future visits for all of us! It is really funny to hear you talking about your trip to Europe with Xandre because she has included photographs and talked about her ‘fantastic’ trip with you in some of her posts! It would be lovely to see yours also!

    Cheers

    John

    Reply
    • I should probably not have started the travelling thing, because now that’s always on my mind! I will most certainly share more of my photo’s as time goes on, and some might overlap with my daughter’s stories and pictures, as we feel very much the same about all of this! And the lucky girl is on her way to Canada – without me!!! I’m jealous! πŸ™‚

      Bye for now!
      Zelmare

      Reply

Leave a Reply

