RSS Feed

Relief!!!

Posted on

A very good morning to you all on this bright and beautiful Monday morning!!!! Β πŸ™‚

I am smiling very broadly today. Go on, ask me why. Oh, OK, I’ll tell you! We had rain last night!!! πŸ˜€ After many, many weeks of extremely hot, very dry weather, the heavens opened last night and it poured down. I cannot begin to explain my relief to you.

I think I mentioned it before, but I’m not a big fan of intense heat. I LOVE winter. We are in a summer rainfall region, so if we don’t get any rain, it just gets warmer, and warmer, and hotter, and hotter… The clouds have been building up for weeks now, and every afternoon we think: ‘It’s going to rain tonight! Look how the clouds are building up!” And then it doesn’t. But last night, it did! (Did I mention that before?)

And of course, when I got up this morning, I was in great spirits – full of energy and smiles. It was beautiful outside – there was a low mist hanging around the house, and it was fresh and wet. SO, what did I do? I grabbed my camera and rushed outside to take pictures! Yay!!!

Except they really didn’t come out as I had hoped. The camera somehow refused to see what I was seeing, and all in all my endeavours were a bit of a disappointment to me. I tried to take a few to show you how beautiful the mist was in the garden, the raindrops on leaves and berries and spiderwebs… I just could not get it! 😦

Anyway, I enjoyed it, and here are a few of the passable shots – maybe you’ll get the idea! πŸ™‚

Mist in the trees. Can you see the spider's web right in front, floating in the breeze?

 

Wet berries.

 

Rain water in an orange leaf. (Orange tree leaf?)

 

Water clinging to the back of an orange leaf.

 

And finally, a bright little flower to brighten up everyone's Monday!

 

Now, I have to go and do paperwork… I have to get everything together to take to my bookkeeper, so I can finalize 2 year’s worth of ‘stuff’… Β  😦

Until we chat again, heads up!!!! πŸ˜€

 

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

14 responses »

  1. this reminds me of the build up in Jaimie Uys’s Beautiful People

    Reply
  2. Congratulations on such a great blog!

    I enjoy reading it so much I have selected you as a worthy recipient of The Versatile Blogger award.

    Visit – http://lizzybradbury.wordpress.com/2012/03/12/versatile-blogger-award/

    – to find out more.

    Once again, thank you for adding value to the blogging community!

    Reply
    • Hi Lizzy!
      Wow! Thank you so much! I’m honoured. I am quite new to this blogging business though, would it be OK if I take a little time before I pass it on? I need to get to know a few more blogs/bloggers before I can do that?
      I’m really glad you enjoy my ramblings, as I enjoy writing them!
      Have a lovely day!
      Zelmare

      Reply
  3. So lovely…glad you got some rain!

    Reply
  4. Rain is always so good when it has been hot. Similar story here, in the summer the heat builds up and up and the only way the temp goes down is with rain. Though it usually brings a lot of humidity now, which isn’t so great.
    I love the photos of the wet berries, you can see everything you were talking about in that one image.

    Reply
  5. ooo I don’t do well in the heat. I’m so glad you finally got rain. yay! Your photos are lovely and the foliage made me think of a rain forest, they were so wet! Great work! I especially love the pretty yellow flower at the end! Sunshine (yellow) makes me happy! πŸ˜‰ Have a great day Zelmare!

    Reply
  6. It is really funny hearing all of you say that your favourite weather is cool and wet, Zelmare, when over here our favourite is the exact opposite – we want relief from the cold, wet, cloudy weather with a bit of sunny and hot weather! We are miserable when it is freezing cold and wet and crave days when the world opens up and our spirits are lifted when it is hot and sunny! Us human beings are just never happy with what we have weather wise! I actually really like your photographs and the misty outcomes!

    Cheers

    John

    Reply
    • I know!!! Humankind is just so ungrateful! πŸ˜‰ I suppose it’s only ‘human’ to be like that. Whatever we have in abundance, we’d prefer the opposite! Thank you so much for your kind comments. πŸ™‚
      Zelmare

      Reply

Leave a Reply

