RSS Feed

Being philosophical…

Posted on

I warned you. Remember? I told you last week that this week I’m going to get philosophical, so here goes – me at my philosophical best. πŸ™‚

“Dream as if you’ll live forever; live as if you’ll die tomorrow.”

When I first read this quote, I thought : “WOW! How very profound. That is how one should live!”

Uhmmmm, people, think about it…you can’t live like that. The first part is fine. “Dream as if you’ll live forever”. Β It is good. Dream. Don’t ever stop dreaming, please! When you are eighty and you still haven’t seen the Taj Mahal, or the Northern Lights, dream about it! Plan your trip. As long as you’re breathing – dream and try and make your dreams come true!

But, how can you live every day as if you’re going to die tomorrow? What would you do if you knew today was your last day on earth? Spend it with your family, or book a ticket to Alaska to quickly go see the Lights? Quickly write your will because you haven’t had time before? Write letters to people you still have things to say to, but they’re too far to go and see them? Make thing right with the brother/sister/father you haven’t seen for twenty years? Call everybody you know, to talk to them one last time?

I don’t know what I’ll do, I only know that it will probably not be the best day of my life. It will be a frantic day of ‘lasts’, I think. And to do all of that every day, is not the way I would like to live.

Stupid, stupid woman…I can just about hear you say that. πŸ™‚ I’m being too literal, aren’t I? Β πŸ˜‰ I don’t know who uttered these well-known words first, but he/she probably only meant that one should live one’s life to the full, every day. Β And YES! I would like to live like that! Doing what I love, all the time, every day! Taking pictures all the time, posting a new blog at least once every day, going to the movies, visiting with friends – oh, what bliss!!!!

But the reality is that very, very few people can do that. If any. Because real life just isn’t like that. Life is also to have to go to work, to have to go grocery shopping, to look after a sick child, to clean your house, to make your bed. If you don’t do all of that, and you don’t die tomorrow, what is your house going to look like? In what state will your finances be?

Maybe all he/she meant was: whatever you do – do it to the very best of your ability. Give your all at work. Love with passion. Write from your heart. Say ‘YES’ to challenges. Say ‘NO’ to fear. Β Smile as much as possible. Laugh. If there’s a song on the radio you love, turn up the volume. Dance or sing or both.

Is that what this person meant when first uttering those words? I think so. What do you think?

CHEERS TO LIFE!!!! πŸ™‚

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

18 responses »

  1. Well said! I would also add, always make time for yourself. It’s wonderful to do things for others, but as mothers we often tend to forget to take care of ourselves and do things we want to do. I have started making time for myself and what I enjoy doing, like my blog for instance. By the way, I like your philosophical side πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Thank you! I definitely agree with you – if you don’t make time for yourself, you get dragged down over time. You have to look after yourself so you can look after others. And thanks again, I can get carried away sometimes… πŸ˜‰

      Reply
  2. Ek stem absoluut 100% saam met jou mami!!! πŸ˜‰ **

    Reply
  3. For me this quote means living life to the fullest by being true to yourself and striving for your dreams, even if you don’t reach them.

    Reply
  4. I believe it means living the best life that you can. Cherish each day, do your best, and make your dreams a part of the plan.

    Reply
  5. I’ve heard that quote many times but I had never stopped to analyze it as you have and I couldn’t agree with you more. Cheers!

    Reply
  6. I’m late in leaving a comment, I’m sorry, been a bit busy.
    This is very philosophical, but I loved it. I am by nature, a procrastinator, why should I do it today when I can do it tomorrow.
    So a different philosophy,

    Make sure you have something to do tomorrow to give you the will to live another day?

    That isn’t mine, I’ve heard it somewhere, but I really like it.
    Great post.

    Reply
  7. It’s good to run across another person who tends to take things pretty literally. I run across a bunch of cute sayings on facebook all the time, but I almost never really agree with them

    Nice post!

    Reply
    • Hi Bird! I’m glad you stopped by! Yes, unfortunately I can be a bit of a nitpicker… πŸ™‚ I love clever quotes, but they have to make sense to me. Thanks for the compliment. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  8. I think you have ‘hit the nail on the head’ as we say here! 100% correct! That’s how we live our lives and, if you remember, we are never going to die!

    Cheers

    John

    Reply

Leave a Reply

