RSS Feed

Heavenly Detail

Posted on

Today I don’t feel much like talking, so my blog is going to be mainly photographs.

In 2008 my youngest son and I went to the UAE to visit a very dear friend of mine. On the day we arrived she took us to see the new mosque that was being built in Abu Dhabi and it made a huge impression on me. The amount of intricate detail that was visible everywhere you turned your head, blew my mind.

Some people might say it is overdone, and it probably is, but imagine the craftsmanship that went into all of this. The man hours, the pride in the finished product. I’ll let the details speak for themselves.

Pillared Walkway

Detail on pillar

Dome Detail

Ceiling in ladies' hall.

The men's area of worship.

Carpet Detail

Outer hall - workmen still busy working on the detail.

Flower detail

And finally, a picture of the mosque from the outside. You can see that it wasn’t finished yet when we were there, but it certainly was impressive. I only chose a few of the pictures, since I’ve taken enough to get you to the point of boredom. That is why I’m going to say goodbye now, and wish you a wonderful relaxing weekend. πŸ™‚

The mosque

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

20 responses »

  1. Stunning!!!! Would love to see it someday!!! πŸ™‚ **

    Reply
  2. That was impressive! Thank you. I’m sure that there were people who thought other structures, like the Taj Mahal, were overdone when they were being built. Thankfully time changes our perspective.

    Reply
    • It is a pleasure! πŸ™‚ If one thinks about the each aspect, it seems to much – even the windows have at least 3 different kinds of detail – but the place is so huge that all in all it doesn’t seem over the top. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  3. I was just there last April but didn’t have time to go to the mosque 😦 Love the pillar shot.

    Reply
  4. Oh my…that is stunning, zelmare! I love the first photo with the pillars and the arches. The angle of that photo is just gorgeous and makes a piece of artwork in itself, looking down the hall of arches. I am very impressed with your photos. I like the one with the worker because it gives us a sense of perspective. That is a huge room! Great post. I would not mind seeing more!

    Reply
    • It is a stunning place, isn’t it! Thank you very much for your kind words, Judy. The place is really enormous and as such I suppose a lot of detail is necessary. I might just surprise you with more of these pictures soon! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  5. I love the detail!

    Reply
  6. Great photos. I love the craftsmanship and detail found in religious buildings–mosques, churches, synagogues. It harkens back to a bygone era where quality reigned and permanence mattered. Sigh.

    Reply
  7. What an amazing place. It is so beautiful. So nice to know that somewhere in the world things are still being built with attention to detail, but also so that the building is beautiful and not just functional. Love the photos. I love the last one.

    Reply
  8. What an extraordinary place – and how wonderful to have seen it in person; the sheer scale looks amazing! Thank you for sharing…
    Susie

    Reply
  9. Just awesome! The detail, artistry and craftsmanship is absolutely superb and your gorgeous photographs just show the place at its best! Wow!

    Cheers

    John

    Reply

Leave a Reply

