RSS Feed

Getting Spiritual

Posted on

Over the last week or two I’ve taken some photographs that I liked, and some I didn’t like, as is normally the case for me. After selecting these two for my post today, I realized that together they actually form a theme.

The first picture is of a church around the corner from our house, and ever since I started coming to Nylstroom on a regular basis just over two years ago, I’ve been wanting to go and take some pictures of it. Last week, I at last got around to doing it. I think the reason why I’m so fascinated by this specific church, is because it looks so different from most other churches. Normally churches and cathedrals are built from big blocks of sandstone or other rock, or it has a facebrick exterior. This charming little church is plastered and painted and is just so beautiful to look at (to me, that is).

Dutch Reformed Church, built in 1898

The conditions were far from perfect, as you can see. I think this would be a completely different picture taken against a bright blue sky. Maybe I’ll get around to taking a picture like that in the next two years, who knows? 😉

        *           *            *           *         *         *         *          *          *

The next picture was also something I’ve been wanting to do for a few months now. The cross in the picture I bought nearly 4 years ago when I was on holiday with my children. We went to a very well-known (locally), but very out of the way little town called Nieu Bethesda where they have a place called The Owl House (this might be a future blog all on its own!) Outside this place were people that make a selection of things out of cement to try and generate an income by selling these items to tourists. This cross caught my eye, and it came home with us!

I moved for the third time in  two years September of last year, and I placed the cross in my garden, where it’s been since then. Every time I’m at my house in Hartbeespoort, I look at the cross nestling in the plants, and I think how perfect it looks exactly where it is. The last time I was there, I had to take some pictures, and here is one of them!

Cross with special memories

I know religion is a taboo subject to a lot of people, and I’m not going to go into that right now. I do know that most people like to think that there is Something or Someone out there looking after us, and to me my cross in my garden symbolizes that.

So dear blog friends, until next time, be blessed! 🙂

PS After reading through my blog before posting it, I realized that there is also a colour theme – white, blue, grey and green!! 🙂

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

16 responses »

  1. The church reminds me of a church in New Orleans that I was fascinated with and kept taking photos of. Here is one of the pictures:

    http://50yearproject.wordpress.com/2011/05/19/reason-87-why-i-work/

    I think the one in New Orleans is larger, but they have very similar features. I’ve always been fascinated by churches–I don’t know why.

    Reply
  2. Amen!!! 😉 Wow, has it been four years since that holiday? Four years since we’ve away on holiday together?? C-razy!!!! 😦 Gorgeous photos Mummy!!!! The photo might look great with a blue sky, but I am quite crazy about the clouds!!! Very moody!! 🙂 **

    Reply
  3. Mmmmmmwaaah! 🙂 Yip, 4 years… Quite sad if you think about it. And thank you, my ‘Poplap’, much appreciated! 🙂

    Reply
  4. I love the photo of the church! You did a great job of capturing the subtle beauty of its symmetry!

    Reply
  5. I really like church picture… looks sooo tall and grand 🙂

    Reply
  6. I started reading your post and thought, we all do that, take photos we like and photos we don’t. I hate it when you go somewhere to take photos and you don’t get anything, your vision for you images does work out.
    I love the image of the church. With a little tweeking in photoshop it could really sing. I could have a go and show you later if you don’t mind.
    Love the cross. My husband is a fundamental atheist, so we can’t have anything like that around here. It looks really big, is it?

    Reply
    • I don’t often have a specific vision of how I want a picture to look, but when I do, it often doesn’t work out. Yes, have a go at the picture, I’ve never edited anything before, except for cropping and changing the brightness… I’m curious to see what the results can be. The cross is not very big, about 40cm in length. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

      Reply
  7. Both photos have their own enchantments. I do like the dark sky behind the perfect smooth white church. Where everything; the grass, the church, the walkway and the bushes are all perfect with not disturbance the clouds give the church the excitement.

    😀

    Reply
  8. I love the church! It doesn’t really matter if you are religious or not – you cannot help but be impressed by the beauty, the grandeur and sometimes the simplicity of church building! I also use Photoshop and it would be nice to see the photo again when Leanne finishes with it. I am guessing that she will bring out the white in the church and lighten the shadows, leaving the dramatic sky and adding a little more contrast overall. Everyone has different ideas of what to do to make a scene as accurate as it was when seeing it with your own eyes! I would be interested to see her interpretation of it.

    Cheers

    John

    Reply
    • Thanks John! I do love churches and cathedrals! Some impress with their opulence, and some is impressive through their simplicity. Leanne sent me her version of the pic by e-mail, I’ll forward it on to you so you can see it.

      I might play around a bit with Photoshop (as soon as I get it!), but like I mentioned somewhere before – my personal aim is to take as good a picture as I possibly can with what I’ve got – my simple little camera, the subject, and my ‘angle’ on it!

      Thanks for the visit, so good to have you back!
      Zelmare

      Reply

Leave a Reply

