RSS Feed

Following a trend

Posted on

Over the past weekend, I saw at least 2 fellow-bloggers post beautiful pictures of elephants (TBM and PhotoBotos – sorry, I really don’t know how to post a link yet… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ย ) It reminded me of a trip we took about 2 years ago to the Pilanesberg Nature reserve in Northwest Province. If you haven’t heard of Pilanesberg yet, you might have heard of Sun City, the huge ‘city’ that Sol Kerzner built seemingly in the middle of nowhere, and it went on to be a hugely popular destination, both for locals and tourists.

Anyway, one of the developers decided to take 3 of the agents (one of them me, of course!) that were marketing their development to Pilanesberg for a day out. It was a fun day, and I took a few photographs of animals, insects and scenery.

The reserve has a very wide variety of animals roaming about, and we were lucky enough to get VERY close to some of the elephants, as you’ll see from my pictures. To me, there are better reserves to go to if you wanted to see wild life, but a lot of people love going to Pilanesberg, probably because it is only about 2 hours drive from Johannesburg and Pretoria.

I hope my two friends don’t mind too much that I’m ‘following ย the trend’, but I’ve wanted to share these elephant pictures for a while now, but most of my South African friends will find them slightly boring, so I’m sharing it today with all of you out there!

Big Foot approaching

 

Good morning, oh Ancient One.

 

Uhmmmm...OK, we were just on our way...

I just love these huge creatures that can tread so gently through the veld, there is a mysteriousness to them that appeals to the romantic in me. I ย do knowย that they can be extremely destructive and dangerous, but that happens mainly when they are provoked, as is the case with most wild animals.

Until we chat again, hope you have a wonderful Monday – make the most of this new week!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

 

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

16 responses »

  1. Whaoooooooh!!! Soooooo close!!! Crazy impressive!!! Got to love Africa!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ **

    Reply
  2. Elephants are such beautiful creatures. They are amazing too, the way they breed and live. I would love to see them in the wild, and to take photos of them. I am so jealous. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  3. Wonderful photos…how amazing to see such a large and beautiful creature so close. Awesome!!!!!!!

    Reply
  4. Wow!! That close up is phenomenal!! I just want to reach out and touch him. Not such a good idea in reality though, I know. :). Great photos!!

    Reply
  5. Great pictures specially the close up ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  6. Thanks so much! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  7. Wow.. nice series of photos..

    Reply
  8. So gorgeous. You are so lucky to get such beautiful photos.

    I promise not to provoke any elephants, today or tomorrow either. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply
  9. Thank you. Yes, I am lucky, can’t argue about that! Yip, stay on the safe side Shez! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  10. Oh my zelmare! Aren’t you a little too close in the last photo? ๐Ÿ˜‰ yikes!
    You see, I’ve only seen elephants in the zoo, so sadly, I do not understand how they are in the wild, unless you count watching National Geographic or Animal Planet on the television!

    What beautiful animals they are…I’ve always thought that. I’ve just never been close to one.
    Their sheer size is daunting!
    I love your photos! You really captured the elephant very well.
    Great post!

    Reply
    • We were a little close, but fortunately (or unfortunately, depending on how you look at it) these animals in this reserve are quite used to vehicles. Also it is generally easy to see when they get agitated – then it won’t do to hang around trying to get a good picture!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

