RSS Feed

Therapy

Posted on

Yesterday afternoon I needed to get out. I’m sure a lot of you have had the feeling that the walls are starting to press inward, not much, just enough to make the spaces inside feel smaller, and tighter, and the air a bit thicker…

So, in order to avoid being squashed to a pulp, I decided to jump into my car and escape to the farm! πŸ™‚

Sometime Wednesday night, it had started to rain – a steady, heavy rain that continued well into the morning. I was completely in my element! Then the clouds slowly started to lift, and the sun played hide-and-seek for a while until it got bored and decided to completely show itself.

By the time I arrived at the farm, it was sunny, but with a lovely, fresh breeze blowing – always a great aid if you want to clear some cobwebs from your mind! So, I parked my car under a tree, grabbed my constant companion (also known as a camera!) and set off on foot.

I tried my best to look at everything I saw as if it was a potential subject for a great picture – the grass blowing in the breeze, the trees, the sky, the insects, my boots and even some cow dung! πŸ˜‰ Β And once again, it ended with a few hits, and quite a few misses.

So here is the story of my afternoon of physical and mental therapy, in pictures.

Grass stalks blowing in the wind. And clouds, of course! πŸ™‚

 

Some fungi growing on a piece of wood next to the path.

 

The spoor of either a duiker (a small kind of buck) or baby warthog. Next to my very sexy hiking boot, to give an idea of scale. πŸ™‚

 

Some tiny daisy-like wildflowers.

 

The tiny pink flower of a wild creeper/ground cover type of plant.

 

More fungi growing on a dried out piece of cow dung! πŸ™‚

 

Clouds framed by trees.

 

Lichen.

 

More lichen.

 

Interesting whorls of a tree.

 

Sweet little flower of a creeper, creeping all over a dead pile of wood.

 

Some kind of pretty, hardy grass forcing its way through some paving.

 

And finally, lying on my back (on an oil drum!) watching the clouds drift by...

 

I took a whole lot more pictures, but once again I think some of you are already yawning and falling asleep, so I’ll be sneaky and work some more pictures into future blogs!

And finally I have to say that my wild therapy, or maybe more aptly ‘therapy in the wild’, did wonders for my soul. I have new courage, more patience (something I am always in short supply of – you can ask my kids!! πŸ™‚ Β ), and I am looking forward to the weekend, and I hope you are too!

Until we chat again – have a grrrrreat weekend, be blessed! πŸ™‚

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

20 responses »

  1. The lichen pictures are fabulous! I would love to take a walk around your farm. It looks so peaceful.

    Reply
  2. Beautiful. I’m ready to get out and explore, but I’m waiting for the steady rain and wind to let up a bit first.

    Reply
    • Thank you. We had quite the storm again today – trees down and trunks torn from their mothers. By the end of the day, the sun was shining again! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  3. There is something so relaxing about the wilderness… lucky you πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Yes, I think it’s the quiet. The lack of noise from traffic and people talking and music, etc. I think it’s good to sometimes just go to a place where one can enjoy complete silence. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  4. Nice series of photos..

    Reply
  5. I wish I had somewhere like that to go to. I have my mothers place, but it is over 4 hours away by car, and the drive makes me not want to go. I love the series of images.
    When I first started photography, a guy said that out of every roll of film you will get one good shot. I don’t know if he meant a roll of 12, 24 or 36, but still, I think sometimes we expect too much from ourselves. Every shot can’t be good, other wise how would we learn. I love the fungi shots, oh, and the sexy boot. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • I am extremely fortunate, I know! My quiet place is only 10 minutes drive away! πŸ™‚

      I want every picture to be as I saw it in my mind. Not happening, and, like you said, not going to happen! And thanks for the kind comments. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  6. What a wonderful place to escape to!

    Reply
  7. Going out and simply getting enveloped by the warmth of Mother Nature is so therapeutic. I love doing that and afterwards, I feel refreshed and invigorated. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  8. Gorgeous pictures! I love the fungi. Some almost looked like sea shells. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  9. Looking at each picture is, indeed, therapeutic.

    Reply
  10. Such A great pictures!! Nicely taken and the angle and texture was really superb!! I love it so much!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

