RSS Feed

For the love of trees

Posted on

It is a cool, perfect Monday morning, and after a good weekend, I’m full of positive energy. πŸ™‚

I’ve thought about this post for a while, and I’ve decided that it is time to do it Β now. I’ll probably do another similar one in future, as I cannot stop taking pictures of…YES, you’ve guessed it – TREES!!!! πŸ™‚ Dead trees to be more precise. I’m not going to say very much, as the pictures are just what they are – a series of dead trees.

I am fascinated by the shapes Β of dead trees, they way they sometimes seem to reach for something unattainable. Life, perhaps?

I hope you don’t find the idea of a bunch of dead trees morbid, but I don’t. I think of it as a tribute to these once beautiful pieces of nature, that are so essential to our well-being on this planet. And even after they’ve stopped making oxygen for us to breathe, after their beauty has supposedly gone, I still find them mesmerizing.

One of a few tree pictures I took on my therapy hike last week.

Middle earth...

This picture was taken 2 years ago, on a trip to a place called Magoebaskloof. It is a beautiful area in the mountains, and there are often a dense mist hanging around, as was the case for most of the weekend we spent there.

Drowned perhaps?

Another one taken on my hike, different tree, different silhouette.

Even in this tiny little Eden, the dead tree does not seem out of place.

 

Oh, and as you can see, the clouds featured as well! πŸ™‚

 

“The trees are whispering to me, reminding me of my roots, and my reach… shhhhhh… can you hear them?Β  Selflessly sharing their subtle song.” Β ~Jeb DickersonΒ 

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

22 responses »

  1. Beautiful photos!! I love to take photos of dead trees too. To me they often look like they are in the middle of a dance with their arms swaying.

    Reply
  2. Loved the photos, and it may sound strange, but dead tees are part of a healthy ecosystem. They provide food for insects, which in turn become food for other insects, birds, and small mammals. And when the tree finally decays, its nutrients go back into the soil to be used by a new generation of plants.

    Reply
  3. loved middle earth photo!

    Reply
  4. I love trees. I think they have so much character. I LOVE the second “Middle Earth” photo.

    Reply
    • They’re a bit like people, each with it’s own personality. Thank you, it’s not the best photo technically, but it does have ‘a feel’ to it.

      Reply
  5. #1 & #3 are my faves πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. I love 1, 2 and 4, the trees in those have great shapes. I love gnarly dead trees, they are so interesting, all their shapes. Winter can be great for that, all those trees that lose their leaves and look they are dead. I really like the clouds in 1 too. πŸ™‚ To me that first image says Africa, or what I think of when I picture it in my mind.

    Reply
  7. They certainly are full of character! That first pic is probably quite ‘typically Africa’ to most people, me included. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  8. I also love to take photos of dead trees…I find them so beautiful. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  9. πŸ™‚ Pleasure. Thanks for stopping by.

    Reply
  10. Lovely photos. I love the starkness of the branches. The defiance of the dead. My friend is obsessed with tree photos. He takes them whenever we travel–living and dead trees–he loves them all.

    Reply
  11. I have a thing with leafless tree (esp. the a dying one). I mean, it’s one of my favorite subjects.

    Reply
    • Well, we share that then! πŸ™‚ It’s amazing how one thinks that you’re the only one that could possibly like something, and then there are so many people who feel the same!

      Reply
  12. Great photographs and I particularly like the first, second and last shots! Isn’t it funny how everyone has different opinions about their favourites out of a range of shots, and anything else for that matter! Thank goodness we are not all the same!

    Cheers

    John

    Reply
  13. Like your tree pictures a lot!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

