RSS Feed

Friday, the 13th

Posted on

‘Luck has a peculiar habit of favoring those who don’t depend on it.’  ~Author Unknown

Good luck, bad luck, no luck – whatever! Some people believe in things like a rabbit’s foot for good luck (how lucky was the rabbit?), they believe that Fri. the 13th is a day of bad luck, and so on, and so forth – you know all the beliefs about luck. But is there really such a thing?

I don’t know. What I do know is that the harder one works, the luckier you get. And that no date on any day, can by itself be bad luck. Imagine if that was the truth? How chaotic would a day like Fri. the 13th be? Because then everybody on the face of this planet would be having ‘bad luck’ on the same day!!! Crrrrrazy! It would take the earth weeks to recover.

I also believe that how a person acts and reacts, could have a lot to do with ‘luck’. How you use your opportunities, can create ‘luck’. Your attitude – positive or negative – can create ‘luck’.

           For those who do believe in the bad luck of this day, here are some pretty purple flowers to brighten your day!

Purple Power! A shrub in my garden in Hartbeespoort.

So, on this cool autumn day, this beautiful Friday the 13th, I wish you a wonderful weekend!

Until we chat again, may your days be filled with lots and lots of ‘good luck’!  🙂

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

15 responses »

  1. I’ve heard that saying before about luck, and frankly, i think you’re right! Good piece!

    Reply
  2. Good grief! is it Friday, 13th! Nope! Don’t believe in it or any superstitions for that matter – oh! – apart from the Loch Ness Monster that is! Ha! Ha! Love the purple flowers!

    Cheers

    John

    Reply
  3. Not superstitious at all… nice write up and enjoy your weekend 🙂

    Reply
  4. Thanks for the flowers. Most of the time I forget the connection between Friday and 13. This time I remembered, but I survived. I really don’t know if I’m superstitious. I didn’t grow up around people who were so I think I just know about some of them from movies, but I don’t know the origins or anything.

    Reply
    • My pleasure. 🙂 I think you’re probably not superstitious (if I had to take a guess) – we should not get confused by the fact that we know about all these things.

      Reply
  5. My husband laughs at me when I talk about luck and believing in it. I’ve been doing a few things this year to help the luck come into our house, not sure it is working, but I”m trying. I painted my front door red. I put a mirror somewhere to reflect the bad luck out. I want this year to be different. So far it is, but not in the way I had hoped.
    I must admit I didn’t even realise it was Friday the 13th until I was visiting my daughter and someone mentioned that it was, and then I forgot about it again.

    Reply
    • 🙂 It seems you’re just a teensy bit superstitious… The other side of this is – if you believe in positive stuff, you attract positive things to you.

      Reply
  6. http://birdmartin.wordpress.com/2012/04/17/ive-been-nominated-for-the-versatile-blogger-award-green-this-time/

    I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award…Come to my site to check out the rules. I hope you play!!

    Reply
  7. Thanks for sharing those beautiful flowers. I think what we think affects our perspective. Missing a bus can be a bad thing. Until you hear that the bus got in an accident. Then it’s a good thing. I believe hard work and a positive atttitude will get yoiu further than luck alone ever could. 🙂

    Reply
  8. 13 is my lucky number!!! 😀 Lovely flowers to go along with it!!! 🙂 **

    Reply

Leave a Reply

