RSS Feed

Does TROUBLE come in threes?

Posted on

I  quickly want to touch base with you, since things are crazy here at the moment. I needed to tell y’all that I haven’t lost interest in you, or my own blog, I’m just not getting around to reading everything and responding to it. I try, believe me, but I’m not even close to being successful. Apart from a generally busy week, here’s how the past couple of days have played out…

I received a phone call from the lady that looks after my house in Hartbeespoort yesterday morning, to tell me that the stacking/folding/sliding door in the lounge is damaged and hanging open. It seems that it was an attempted robbery. I had to drop everything I was busy with at that moment, and rush to my house  (160km away) to try and repair and make safe. The perpetrators (I had to fight very hard with myself not to use all the little signs on my keyboard before this word…) used a screwdriver to gouge out chunks of wood to try and get to the lock. When they couldn’t quite get there, they somehow forced the one door open, which cracked the wood. Now I have to replace 2 of the 5 panels in the door, and it has to happen very quickly, because I want to go home. And I’ve got guests staying in the house this weekend. And I’ve got tenants moving in next week.

After a full day of trying to arrange several things to happen in two days’ time (this involved driving around, making a gazillion phone calls and lots of waiting for people to get back to me), I wanted to drive to my friends’ house where I was going to sleep over, and … my car wouldn’t start!!!!! There were no warning signs at all. It just died. Non responsive. Ignoring all my attempts at cajoling it back to life.

Frustration…

Fortunately I’ve got awesome friends, so Dale came to fetch me, and early this morning she took me back to my car, we jump-started it, and I took myself off to buy a new battery. I nearly died of shock when I heard the price, but what could I do? Except pay up, and shut up! Now I’m waiting for the cost of replacing the doors, which I’m sure is not going to be a teeny, tiny amount either.

I’m not sure it’s going to all be done today, which means staying over another night. But the positive side of this is spending more time with my friend(s), and more time away from my SO, which might make him miss me (more?)…

And I’m waiting for the third ‘thing’ to happen. Because these things always come in threes don’t they?

Or does that make me superstitious…?   😉

 

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

21 responses »

  1. Oh no!!! Break-in… again?? 😦 crazy!!! Good luck Mommy – hope you get everything sorted soon!!! Lets hope there’s no #3 waiting to happen!!! Luvu plenty much!!! 🙂 **

    Reply
  2. Oh that sounds terrible. I hope everything works out OK.

    Reply
  3. what a day! i hope things calm down for you soon

    Reply
  4. That’s crazy! Hope things settle down!

    Reply
  5. It sounds like everyday life is the same no matter what part of the world you live in. Cheer up, things will always get better, before they get worse again. 😉

    Reply
    • And that’s supposed to cheer me up? 😉 Jokes aside – yes, life is not predictable, and it is not always easy. Thank ggodness for the ups, so we can gather strength for the downs. 🙂

      Reply
  6. I hope there is no number 3 and that things get back to normal. Sound like a stressful time.

    Reply
  7. By clicking on the “like” button I just mean that I feel really bad that you are having such bad luck, but I think you have had the equivalent of 3 things and you are done! Only good things will happen from now on!!! 🙂

    Reply
  8. Oh no zelmare…..what an awful time you’ve had. I’m so sorry.
    I think things will be on the upswing now…guests in the house, then tenants. Once the doors are fixed, then things will start rolling along as usual. I agree with others. You’ve had enough grief for more than three things. You’re done with it! There will be no #3. Take a breath and relax. Things are on the upswing now. I’ll be thinking of you. I missed you and your blog!

    Reply
    • Hi Judy!
      Welcome back!!!! 😀 I missed you and your blog too.

      Thank you for the positive feedback – I needed that today, as I’m waiting for the guys to finish putting in the doors. And I still have to pay them for their labour…

      I’ve also decided that this is it now, no #3!!! Done! I will force the positive energy into my life, by hook or by crook!

      Thanks for visiting. 🙂

      Reply
  9. Oh man I am so sorry to hear all this. We recently went through a spell like this and kept wondering when the third thing would happen…it still hasn’t hit so we may be in the clear, which means there is hope for you. Good luck with everything.

    Reply
  10. Never say, “Oh, no. What next!” you will find out.

    I count more than three already. It’s all how you look at things.

    1>Phone call bad news.
    2>Having to actually drop everything and leave for a long drive
    3>Finding out there was lots of damage not just a broken lock
    4>The car not starting
    5>Car needing NEW battery, not just a jump
    6>All of it gobbling up your fun vacation money.

    And of course there was the auto accident recently enough to be able to add that to the list. And the big move for your daughter.

    Me thinks you have been royally hammered, so you should be good for quite a bit of time now. Just don’t ask or even think about what next. That’s too dangerous.

    Can’t hurt to send you some [[[[HUGS]]]] 😉

    Reply
  11. Ugh! Sounds like a super hectic time! Congrats on getting the door fixed in such a tiny time frame too. You must be amazing at project management. The car dying stinks. I have to agree with Shez, you’ve gotten two rounds of the triple bad luck so you should be out of the loop for a bit. Fingers crossed. And it is mildly superstititious but since you don’t believe in Friday the 13th, I think you can have this triple bad luck superstition. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

