RSS Feed

End of an era

Posted on

Hi there everybody!!! I’m still trying to catch up to all your new posts, but it seems once one has fallen behind, it is near impossible to catch up.

Thank you for all your positive replies and support, it is much appreciated. I can say that I’ve managed to get everything done that needed to be done last week (have doors replaced after attempted break-in, etc.), and a little bit more (some plastering and painting to spruce up the place a bit.)

Now, on to the present.

Today spells the end of an era for me. The last guests to stay in my guesthouse left today. It has long been a dream of mine to have a guesthouse, and the opportunity came (as many opportunities do) from misfortune. I got the chance to start up my guesthouse after my divorce. It was exciting and it has been doing relatively well, but unfortunately not well enough. As this is, for the moment, my sole income, I couldn’t afford to carry on with it, and I had to find a tenant. Which I fortunately did. πŸ™‚

So, as of today, the guesthouse is no more, and this time the relief is definitely a lot more than the sadness at having to close it (the Janus-effect again…) πŸ™‚

I’ve had a name for the guesthouse a long time before I opened the doors. I read the name in a bookΒ somewhere , and I thought that it was so appropriate Β – L”Abri, which is French for The Shelter.

The view from the guesthouse.

 

 

I couldn’t resist adding this next picture as well. Even though it is the same view, the mood is quite different.

Same view, different mood.

 

L'Abri, street view

In a certain sense, this is a new start again. No more worrying about guests breaking and stealing stuff, no more driving 160km every week/10 days to make sure things are in place for the next guests. But also no more financial worries, as the rent will cover my expenses every month. How blesses am I!!!!! πŸ™‚

Until next time my good friends, keep well!!! πŸ™‚

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

20 responses »

  1. Aaaaawwwwwwwww mammie!!! – sad, but VERY excited for you!!! No more stress and worries… this is gooooood!!! Love you!!! πŸ™‚ **

    Reply
  2. It sounds like a very positive change. What a beautiful view, too.

    Reply
  3. Happy for you… that is a beautiful property πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. I love the views from the house, pretty amazing. I don’t think I could run a guest house, too much work. I hope the renting works out so much better. Good Luck.

    Reply
  5. It sounds like a good thing…and I’m a big fan of no stress! I wish you the best of luck in this new era.

    Reply
  6. i love peaceful days with no stress, good luck on your next journey

    Reply
  7. I love the “rental” house. It has so much charm. And the view from it is wonderful. Glad it now comes with low stress. Removing any from our lives is a big plus. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  8. L’Abri is AMAZING! Glad you have less worries. It’s good to roll with things. The guesthouse wasn’t working. But you tried it. And now new chapter. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Thank you. πŸ™‚ YES!!! – new era… I’m so tired tonight – spent the whole day packing and loading and driving, etc. But it is done. And I’m relieved.

      Reply
  9. zelmare….what a stunning guest house and view! I love the name you chose! So appropriate and creative. It’s so you! I’m very glad this brings floods of relief to you in so many ways. I’ll bet you can think of many ways to use the time you used to travel to and fro! A new era indeed. Congrats, my friend!

    Reply
    • Thank you so much Judy! I spent the whole day there last Thursday – packing and loading. And I thought I might be sad, but all I felt was relief (apart from being VERY tired…) And I had to drive there again today, to hand over keys and welcome the new tenants, and I will be happy not to have to go there for a long while… πŸ™‚

      Reply
      • Hurray! Such a load off your shoulders. I know you’ve had mixed feelings. But in the long run, I think you’ll find this a blessing. Such a gorgeous place! I wish I could see that kind of view 165 km from my house!!
        You are fortunate to live in such a lovely place!

Leave a Reply

