RSS Feed

Autumn in South Africa

Posted on

The weather has been unseasonably warm for this time of the year, but nature has not been waiting for the temperatures to drop. The signs of autumn are everywhere, and apparently it is going to become colder towards the end of the week. I stepped out of our front door, and took a few pictures with some evidence of autumn right here in our yard.

Leaves on the paving

 

 

This next picture is nothing special, but I do like how the leaves just about cover the grass, and the sun shining through the trees onto the lawn.

Leaves on the lawn

 

Leaves that have fallen on leaves! πŸ™‚

 

Green, yellow and brown leaves, all in one tree!

 

Big leaves, and small leaves

 

Rocks and leaves.

 

As with the seasons in nature, there is also something beautiful in every season of life. I don’t know when it is generally accepted for a person to be ‘in the autumn of his/her life’, but if I’m already there, then I can vouch for the fact that there is beauty in this phase of life.

Until we chat again, be blessed! πŸ™‚

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

15 responses »

  1. Great photos…you are approaching autumn and we are waiting for summer. I love this world! Autumn is one of my favorite seasons. Enjoy!

    Reply
  2. I love autumn colours!!! πŸ˜€ **

    Reply
  3. Enjoy the colours of Autumn πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. Autumn is a gorgeous time, here in Melbourne it is usually the best weather for the year as well. Here, not all the trees lose their leaves, maybe only half, is it the same in South Africa?

    Reply
    • The weather is good, because the evenings are a lot cooler. It is the same here – not all the trees throw their leaves off, but a fair amount does. The one thing I do not like about winter, is the beiges and greys all over – we have very little green around here then…

      Reply
  5. 1st two are amazing πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. Beautiful pictures! It is amazing to think that we are on the same time zone with opposite seasons. πŸ˜‰

    Reply
  7. Great photos, I am so not ready for autumn! We are enjoying spring in Michigan but it is always fascinating to see what the other side of world is doing:)

    Reply
    • I can understand that, since you’re barely done with winter! But I’m looking forward to some cold weather, as we had a very hot summer! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  8. South of the equator and a country I’ve never visited, it is great to see your leaves of autumn. When it is next spring for you, I’ll be sharing my fall leaves photos. πŸ˜€

    Reply

Leave a Reply

