RSS Feed

Come into my parlour…

Posted on

… said the spider to the fly!

 

I saw this spider’s web very early one morning on the farm and with the minute little dew drops all over the web and the grass, I couldn’t resist taking a picture of this weird spider home.

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

22 responses »

  1. Very interesting indeed!!! πŸ™‚ **

    Reply
  2. I believe that’s the web of a trapdoor spider, there are many species of them. That’s one of the things I love about your blog, seeing the title, I wasn’t sure if this post was another about redecorating your house, or a nature post. Variety is the spice of life.

    Reply
    • πŸ™‚ I think it’s a funnel-web grass spider (Olorunia ocellata), apparently quite common. πŸ™‚ Thank you, I’m way behind on the decorating bit, and it is bugging me no end. So hopefully I’ll soon have something on that.

      Reply
  3. That looks like a massive spider hole. I sure wouldn’t want to come across that spider.

    Reply
    • πŸ™‚ No, it’s not really massive, the close-up only makes it seem huge. I was hoping the spider would come out so I could see what it looked like, but I think it was too early. I think it might be a relatively ‘friendly’ spider…

      Reply
  4. It does look like an invitation. Creepy almost.

    Reply
  5. What an amazing web!

    Reply
  6. Wow. That’s a cool web, zelmare! It’s not easy to capture a web in a photo, but you did! Great!

    Reply
  7. Amazing. Cool. Love the photo. But I would have run away as quickly as my little legs would let me – lol! No kidding πŸ˜› Have a great day!

    Reply
  8. Cool! But it would freak me out.

    Reply
  9. I’m almost afraid of what’s in the center of that web. Seems like a huge hole for a spider to poke its head out of. Great shot!

    Reply
    • Thank you! πŸ™‚ I don’t think he’s that big – I have to go and see if I can get a picture of the owner of the web, so we can all know what he looks like!

      Reply
  10. Ohh, love this! Creepy!
    anne

    Reply

Leave a Reply

