RSS Feed

Away, and back.

Posted on

We’ve been away to Cape Town for almost a week. When we were loading the car, my SO said: ‘We don’t need to take ALL the laptops, do we? (2 laptops, to be precise…) Because you’re NOT going to be blogging all the time while we’re away, are you?’

I answered (meekly): “Of course not. I need my laptop to download my pics.’

Seriously sceptic look from my SO.

Me (meekly again): ‘I promise I won’t blog.’

SO: ‘OK then.”

So, here I am, still not caught up on all my reading and replying from the previous time – out, and now even further behind…

Why do you put up with it? – I hear you ask.

Because he took me away for a few days. I wanted/needed to meet his brother and sister -in-law, and I sort of insisted on this trip. He kindly complied, and spoilt me rotten while doing so. In return I thought that I could at least give him a blog-free few days, with my undivided attention.

It wasn’t easy, because I did every once in a while quickly check my e-mails, and I could see the posts piling up…

I was not ignoring all of you, and I’m back, and I’m going to try and tell you all about this absolutely wonderful trip over the next few posts.

For a bit of a teaser of what is to come, here is one photograph of our most well-known landmark (I think everybody should recognize it!) – and recently made one of the new ‘Wonders of the World.’ Over the past week I was fortunate enough to see this magnificent mountain from all sides and in various moods, so although the light was a bit foggy and not really conducive to clear and bright photographs, I hope you enjoy this picture of Table Mountain from the ‘Bloubergstrand’ Β side.

Magnificent Table Mountain

 

We started off on Wednesday afternoon, after I spent some time with my elder son to celebrate his 23rd birthday. I will tell you about a couple of very historic towns, and I will get philosophical about family ties over the next few days, so until then, BE BLESSED!!!! πŸ™‚

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

20 responses »

  1. I’m glad you were able to get away for a few days. I look forward to hearing/seeing more about your trip. I know what you mean about getting caught up. I don’t have a laptop to take with me when we go anywhere so when I get back, it takes a few days to catch up.

    Reply
  2. electronic free days are good for the soul! i scratch things down in a little notepad while taking vacations and then write about it when i get home, it helps me to remember to be present in every moment:)

    Reply
  3. That is such a gorgeous mountain πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. Nice to hear from you again, I had wondered where you had gone. I am really looking forward to seeing what you have for us. Love the mountain. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. Look forward to reading about your trip πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. Yaaaaaaay!!! Can’t wait to hear/read all about it!!! Love the pic!!! – you were lucky with the gorgeous weather!!! I couldn’t get such a sunny shot of beautiful Table Mountain!!! πŸ™‚ **

    Reply
  7. I loved seeing Table Mountain…it is so cool. I don’t blog either when I am on a trip. I receive a similar look, but it is good to have time with loved ones and family. Glad you enjoyed and I look forward to hearing about it.

    Reply
  8. I definitely take a vacation from social media in general when I am on vacation. I go through about a day or two of withdrawal, but I get over it and then I start enjoying myself. Looking forward to your posts!

    Reply
  9. WONDERFUL Post.thanks for share..more wait .. …

    Reply
  10. No need to apologize. It’s good to disconnect from computers and reconnect with the world and people around us! Glad you had a few days away. You deserve it. Don’t worry about catching up. Everyone will still be here next week. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  11. got to love that view, out of curiosity to South Africans living there agree that cape town and it’s surrounds have become hideously expensive or is that something that’s happened nationwide, we were shocked at the prices after 18 months away

    Reply
  12. What a beautiful photo and an exciting trip, zelmare! I can’t wait to hear and see more! I’ve been trying to catch up on blog visits since our trip in April. I’m not doing well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

