RSS Feed

My trip II : Franschhoek

Posted on

The second night of our trip, we stayed over in a B & B between the towns of Paarl and Franschhoek.

We were pleasantly surprised to find that the place we were going to sleep that night, was 500 years old! The present owner was a descendant of an Englishman that bought the place in the mid-1800’s, with money that he borrowed from Cecil John Rhodes! It was an amazing place, and we loved staying there.

The next day, we spent some time in and around Franschhoek, but today I’m keeping it short and sweet – ย history of the area in my next blog!!!!

We visited two wine farms, but one of them we visited for a totally different reason than tasting wine! At Plaisir de Merle, we tasted (and bought) some delicious wines. L’Ormarins is a stunningly beautiful farm, which now belongs to the Rupert- family ( some of you might have heard ofย Anton Rupert, a very well-know business man and millionare) and they make exquisite wine there, but we went there to visit – get this!! – ย the Franschhoek Motor Museum!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ ย This museum has a history all of it’s own, but at this rate we’ll never get away from history. Shortly, the government closed down a motor museum in Heidelberg, and the cars were left to rot, so the Ruperts bought up everything, and relocated the museum to Franschhoek. And what a stunning job they did of it!

I hope you enjoy the pictures!

Lekkerwijn, our 500 year old B & B.

The huge courtyard of the house, with an ancient pomegranate tree.

The dining room, ready for us to sit down to breakfast.

Vineyards at Plaisir de Merle

The entrance to L’Ormarins

The Franschhoek Motor Museum

And finally, just to give you an idea of the inside of the museum, some beautiful old motor cars. I think that I’ll show you the rest of the beauties in a separate blog. Those of you who love cars as much as I do, will drool when you see the rest of the photographs!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

A couple of Mercedes Benzes.

Until we get together for our next history lesson, have a wonderful time!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

18 responses »

  1. Wow – breathtakingly beautiful place!!! Love the autumn colours!! ๐Ÿ™‚ **

    Reply
  2. Oh what beautiful photos and what amazing places you were able to visit. I really enjoyed this post – especially the ancient pomegranate tree. It looks like something out of a fantasy novel!

    Reply
    • I feel so lucky and blessed to have been able to see all of this! Thank you for your kind comments. The pomegranate tree also makes me think of somewhere like Middle Earth! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  3. Lovely pics… the entrance one is phenomenal ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  4. I remember visiting here when I was a teenager and thinking it was a really quaint, but peaceful, place.

    Reply
    • The last time I was there, was when I was about 10 years old, so I couldn’t remember too much of it. It is now one of the ‘IN’ places, so not so very peaceful anymore… ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  5. I don’t know which part I like best, the history, the old cars, or your photos of the area. It’s like getting to travel to a place without leaving home.

    Reply
  6. Love the photos,nice to see photos of another part of the world that looks a bit like us right now. I have to ask, is that Heidelberg, Germany? I live near Heidelberg in Australia, and just wondered if there was another one.
    Love the history lessons, looking forward to more. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    • Thanks Leanne! No, it is Heidelberg, South Africa! I never thought that there would be a Heidelberg in Aus.! Thanks, this trip was amazing that way – I could do a dozen blogs with only history as topic! I suppose it’s because we traveled to the very heart (and beginnings) of South Africa.:)

      Reply
  7. Beautiful! Love the courtyard garden and covered walkway. The entrance to L’Ormarins….is gorgeous! Plaisir de Merle….such beauty! Love the old cars and can’t wait till your “automobile” post! Your photos are stunning. The dark clouds add to the drama!
    (the vineyard names are French, I see.)

    Reply
    • Thanks so much! It was such a wonderful trip. Yes, a lot of the vineyards’ names are French – Franschhoek is Dutch for French corner, but more about that in my next history blog! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  8. Everything is so beautiful. The land, the sights, your photos and the colors.The trees were a strange reminder that you are heading into autumn while we are drizzling through spring. Summer to be here in a few weeks if the rain will decide to let her come visit and stay for a while. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply

Leave a Reply

