RSS Feed

Sunday morning coming down…

Posted on

The winter has arrived.

We were warned from early on this week, that the cold would hit the country by this weekend. And it did! Not that I’m complaining, mind you! As I’ve told you before, I love winter and everything that goes with it. Up to now, we’ve had unseasonably warm temperatures, so it was time for the cold to strike. One cannot have a year without winter now, can we? ๐Ÿ˜‰

It is Sunday morning, not too early, and I’m wondering how we are going to spend our day. We have several cows about to calf (we think so, since we don’t know much about being cattle farmers! We could still be waiting this time next month, for all I know!) Yesterday one of them really seemed to be uncomfortable, so we’ll probably spend a lot of time on the farm, to make sure they are all fine, especially since it is so very cold.

And then ย there is the Montreal Grand Prix, later on today, which we will most probably watch, since my SO* is such a petrolhead! I really don’t mind that, since I’ve always loved beautiful cars as well, and I’ve learnt a lot about machines since we’re together.

We will make something to eat, somewhere during the day. We are not clock watchers, and we won’t necessarily have breakfast now (it is 8.28 am), and we probably won’t have lunch at 1pm. We do things rather randomly around here, but we all seem to be fine – nobody starving to death. But somewhere during the day, we will decide to put that pork roast in the oven, and make some veggies to go with it, and we’ll have a late lunch.

I mostly love Sundays, it is just once in a while that I feel a bit edgy, or irritated, and those are the days that I hope something comes up to make it a little bit less…quiet, shall we say?

So, here’s wishing you all a wonderful Sunday. May you have the kind of day that you enjoy having. Since tomorrow it is back to work for all of us, may you also have a day of rest and quiet, and be refreshed for the week ahead.

A part of ‘The Twelve Apostles’ (mountain range behind table Mountain) sticking through the clouds on our drive round Chapman’s Peak two weekends ago.

PS. ย I know I owe you one more ‘history lesson’ from our trip – I will get around to it this week.

*Significant other.

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

13 responses »

  1. Sounds like a perfect day mommy!! Enjoy!! ๐Ÿ™‚ **

    Reply
  2. I had to have a laugh to myself about the roast pork, that is in my oven right now and once I finish this comment, I will be going to get it ready, I hope it is ready to eat, it smells divine and I am hungry. Sounds like a lovely way to spend Sunday. Hope the calves come soon and that you take some photos.

    Reply
    • ๐Ÿ˜€ Nice! I hope you had a good lunch/dinner! We are on our way to check on the cows now, and you can be sure that I’ll take pictures if there are any new arrivals. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  3. It sounds like a very nice life, one that very much mirrors my own. Your Sunday will get less quiet if one of the cows goes into labor!

    Reply
  4. Sounds like a nice day. I’m always ready for the cool weather to hit after a hot summer. I love your photos of the mountain shrouded in fog. It has a wonderful feel to it.

    Reply
  5. Love the photo. I hope you enjoyed your day!

    Reply
  6. zelmare…you describe a perfect day! Relaxing and comfy, with tummy-pleasing food later in the day. Checking in on your four-legged brood.
    Perhaps some time to put your feet up and partake in a little doze!
    Your photo is marvelous. I love the mountain poking through the clouds! beautiful!

    Reply
    • Hi Judy! Always so nice when you visit! ๐Ÿ™‚ It was a good day, thank you. Very quiet and relaxing. No calves, yet, but they’ll come when they’re ready. You should see that mountain!!! Oh it is a thing of beauty… Thanks for the compliment. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  7. Zelmare, I envy your nice relaxing day. After being gone one weekend and then sick the next two I had one mission: CLEAN HOUSE. I spent two days and there are still chores waiting, but ohhh it feels so good to have things looking clean. We have been overwhelmed at work the last few weeks which is the best news but no relaxing there either. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    • I must admit that I am lucky. We have quite a lot of these types of Sundays, since my SO works himself into the ground during the week, and sometimes Saturdays as well, so he needs to have some chill-time. Except he had to do some admin work on Sunday, poor thing, while I did the chilling! ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

