RSS Feed

Sunshine in a bottle – something different…

Posted on

I’m slightly freaked out.

My laptop died.

So, there I was 2 days ago, writing this whole piece of history as promised to you guys, and I couldn’t get to my pictures. And every time I think of something I want to write, I remember that I cannot get to my ‘old’ photographs.

Therefor, I had to take some new pictures.

About a week ago, my SO’s* mother sent us a HUGE bag of kumquats. Her tree bore abundant fruit this year, and since she doesn’t like these pretty little fruits, she sent them to us. Problem is, I also don’t like to eat them. And since there are only 2 people at a time in the house that do eat kumquats, the majority of those fruits were probably going to go to waste.

I decided that it will be a dreadful waste, so I got onto the internet, found a recipe for kumquat marmalade, and I got going. Marmalade is another thing I don’t really enjoy, but at least then we can give a bottle or two of marmalade to someone that does enjoy it, and the fruit doesn’t end up on our compost heap.

Kumquats.

 

It is extremely time consuming. To get the pith out, and the pips, and then to cut it up finely, took me a couple of hours, and I only did one kilogram! I didn’t want to do too much, in case it didn’t work out. (I’ve never made jam before.)

 

Cleaned and cut!

 

After all that, adding the rest of the ingredients is as easy as pie, but then you have to watch it like a hawk so it doesn’t overcook and become a sticky inedible mess!! πŸ™‚

And then, the best part, is spooning it into the prepared bottles!!! And tasting it, of course! And in the end, I was really pleased with the result. It is far from perfect, I’m sure, but it tastes good and doesn’t look too bad.

I couldn’t quite get the pictures the way I wanted, but at least you’ll get the idea!

 

Sunshine, bottled, with clove! πŸ™‚

 

 

And the taste test…

Seed loaf, real butter and kumquat marmalade!!

 

Apparently, the computer guy will be able to retrieve the stuff on my pc, so all I need to do is get new one… 😦 Β Or just buy an external hard drive to put everything on, and then I could, for the moment, use my darling, patient SO’s laptop, until my finances look a bit better.

Until next time then, cheers! πŸ™‚

 

 

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

14 responses »

  1. That’s too bad about your laptop, but I’m so so glad that your data can be saved!! :). Phew!

    Reply
    • Yes, it’s a huge relief to me too! πŸ™‚ I don’t mind too much about the other stuff, but I’ve got tons pf photographs on it, and I’ll be devastated if I lose them.

      Reply
  2. This is awesome mommy!! I’m also not a kumquat person – also not marmelade – but this look super yummy!!! It reminds me of Rose’s marmelade – do you remember that?? yum-my!!! πŸ˜€ You should post the recipe for the avid cookers/bakers/chefs!!! Hope I can taste some of that… πŸ™‚ **

    Reply
  3. I hope you can get all your stuff off your computer. I won’t tell you what happened to mine one. The marmalade looks beautiful. Great colour, love the shot of the light coming through the jars.

    Reply
    • Yes, so do I, although I’m most worried about my photographs – I can live without the other stuff. Thanks, I think it didn’t come out too badly – the marmalade that is, I’m still dubious about the pictures, but thanks for liking it. I’ll definitely never be able to become a food photographer!!! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  4. I hope that you’ll be able to retrieve your old photos! I’ve never tried kumquats, but the marmalade looks and sounds very good. Here in the United States, it’s hard to find jams or marmalades that have any real fruit of any kind in them on the store shelves. They’re all sugar and artificial flavors.

    Reply
    • Oh, so do I!!!! πŸ™‚ They’re very tart little fruits. Some people, like my SO, love them, but most people I know don’t really like them. They are differnet to other citrus fruits – you have to eat them skin and all, and the skin is the sweet part, with the actual fruit being a sour/bitter combination. But I must say, the marmalade is very tasty. πŸ™‚ Sad how manufacturers reckon that we have to be satisfied with artificial rubbish.

      Reply
  5. I used to eat these when I was little. A neighbor grew them and we would “take” them. I’ve never had this type of marmalade but I bet I would love it. Sorry about the laptop, but at least the info will be retrieved. That reminds me to put some stuff onto my external hard drive. A project for this weekend.

    Reply
    • Please don’t delay. I don’t want to sound preachy, but I kept putting it off…and then – gone! I’m just lucky that the stuff can be retrieved. (I hope!!!!) πŸ™‚

      Reply
  6. Your marmalade looks yummy and I like kumquats but hard to find here.

    Storing files on an external HD is very good advice. May I also suggest partitioning your drive to protect your files in case your computer gets corrupted?

    Reply
    • Thanks May. I will most certainly look into partitioning – although I have no idea what you’re talking about, but it sounds like something worth doing. πŸ™‚

      Reply
      • Partitioning can be advantageous because you can split your C drive into 2 (or more but don’t recommend). Let’s call the other half of your C drive “D”. If your C drive is compromised, then the files you’ve stored in your D drive are protected (even though C and D are physically one hard drive). Hope that helps.

      • Thanks May, I’ll definitely look into that. Appreciate your reply. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

