RSS Feed

Sticks and stones.

Posted on

Some of you know that I’m not a huge fan of black & white photographs.

However… I’ve been inspired by some of my friends here in blogland (like Leanne and Mr Bunnychow), to try something different. I’ve been waiting for a photograph that is stunning, different and that has the ‘wow’ factor, but for that I might wait for a very long time! πŸ™‚

So, I decided to use two of the more abstract B & W’s that I’ve taken over the last two weeks, and get an idea of what you guys think of it. I still have to get a feeling for it, so if you don’t, that’s fine with me! πŸ™‚

I was closing a gate on the farm last week, when I noticed some gravel lying there. It was left over after they put in new fence posts, and I thought – why not give this a try…

Stones.

This next one was just a random idea that I tried, since I always felt that B&W works better with abstract pictures.

Sticks.

I’ve taken a lot of other , more ‘normal’ pictures as well, but to me they look extremely ordinary and boring, so I’ll have to decide if I’m going to share them with you.

But in the meantime, it’s weekend, so here’s wishing you all a wonderful weekend!!! πŸ™‚

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

26 responses »

  1. They’re great Zelmare, I personally love black and white as you know, although I tend to really push the darks so that there’s great contrast, both of these work though, keep playing it’s great fun xx

    Reply
    • Thank you! πŸ™‚ I’ll keep trying to find subjects for B&W, as these really are just showing my first attempts and I’m far from happy with them. But it is fun trying something new. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  2. I’m not a big fan of black and white photography either, but you did choose two subjects that do work well in B&W.

    Reply
  3. You are right – the feeling of a photo needs to fit b/w… I also struggle with it… I think one needs to look at different things to shoot in b/w – textures, shapes, lines etc…. great that you’re exploring mommy!!! You’re of to a great start!!! πŸ™‚ **

    Reply
  4. You are too funny sometimes. I love the way you write. πŸ™‚
    The photos, I agree with Xandre, you do have to have a feeling for it. There are some subjects that scream to be in B&W and others that don’t. I would recommend looking at what other people do in B&W, or when you take some photos, just convert them and see what you think. Up the contrast a little, and see what happens. You don’t have to do B&W, I don’t do it very often, sometimes a subject just says make me B&W.
    In the two you have done, I think the stones are more interesting. I love it that you are trying and look forward to some more. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • πŸ™‚ Thanks. I know I don’t ‘have to’, but I personally feel I have to do something different, and B&W is something relatively simple to do. I’ll try a few more. Maybe I’ll catch on, maybe I won’t. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  5. I actually like them! And now you have given me pause for thought in thinking I should try to tack some pics in B&W (I love colour too much to forgo it).

    Reply
  6. Great job with your experimentation. I really like them!! Now, I need to try that more myself :).

    Reply
  7. I’ve always enjoyed black and white photos. Nice shots and happy weekend!

    Reply
  8. I like them! I especially like that you took something ordinary and saw a greater potential πŸ™‚ B&W’s are tricky. It’s all about contrasts – not enough and it looks flat. Your photos have depth. I hope you keep taking B&W photos.

    Reply
    • Thank you, May, you are too kind! I didn’t think that taking a good B&W could be this tricky, but I’m going to keep looking for that one ‘WOW’ pic. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  9. B&W photos are tricky. That’s why I don’t do them often! Sometimes I try mine and there isn’t enough contrast. They’re kind of “blah” looking. And, while I love B&W, I also love rich color! So, I have a problem! I will try some more and see what I can come up with. I love both of yours. I agree with you…I think it needs to be an abstract form. I think you’ve started a little challenge here, zelmare! πŸ˜‰

    Reply
    • πŸ™‚ Thanks Judy!!! I’m also torn – I absolutely LOVE colour, that’s why I think I battle with B&W. But let’s see what we can come up with… πŸ™‚

      Reply
  10. thank you for your information, i like the website very muchhttp://www.expectaculo.com

    Reply
  11. I’m not a fan of black and white usually, but those sticks and gravel look really cool. πŸ™‚ My friend and I took a bunch of black and white pics years ago at a nature preserve, they came out super cool!

    Reply
  12. Hello! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website
    with us so I came to look it over. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my
    followers! Exceptional blog and brilliant style and design.

    Reply
    • Hi Frederic! Thank you so much for your visit and your very kind comments. As you’ve probably noticed, I haven’t posted anything for a very long time, but comments like yours will go a long way to inspire me again! πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

