RSS Feed

ADAM

Posted on

I am SO excited!!! πŸ™‚

New life arrived on the farm today. No, no new calf – yet. We’re still waiting for that happy event to take place (not patiently, I might add…)

Something equally big happened – our first bull arrived!!!! (Which is also the reason we named him Adam – first man created, father of all mankind; our Adam – first bull on our farm, hopefully forefather of many!)

I contacted a very big stud farmer a month ago, and I went to see what his farm is all about. We are interested in a certain breed of cattle, namely Huguenot, which was specifically bred for the area we live in. I saw The Bull there that day, and we went and fetched him today.

Here is a picture of Adam when I fell in love with him on the farm he was born on. He is a three year old Huguenot bull, with (we believe/hope) huge genetic potential to give us lots of gorgeous calves.

ADAM

Adam was understandably a bit skittish after he arrived, and he didn’t want to pose for pictures. I tried to get a stunning picture of this beautiful creature in his new environment, but these next two photographs were all I could get out of him. Together with the bad light, I couldn’t get any good shots, but despite that, don’t you agree that he is a gorgeous animal?

Grumpy Adam.

Adam and co.

 

Oh, and after we went back later to see if he settled in, I turned around to get back into the car, and saw this…

Moon.

Once again, I’m totally disappointed in my full moon photograph, but I had to try, and the colours work, even if the moon doesn’t. ( I think…)

Until we chat again, be blessed. I know I am. πŸ™‚

***PS. How weird and unpredictable is life…I grew up in a city, I’ve always been a total city mouse, and here I am, totally excited and thrilled about our new bull!!!

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

24 responses »

  1. Adam is HUGE!!! Congrats farm-mommy!!! πŸ˜‰ **

    Reply
  2. Adam is very impressive as are your photos of him!! May he give you many gorgeous calves!! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. Lucky you… I want to be on a farm too πŸ™‚
    You know what they say? The grass is always greener on the other side πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Well, come visit us!!!! And I know Adam agrees with you – he would much rather be in the other camp with the ‘unpregnant’ cows! πŸ˜‰ Unfortunately he has to wait until some test results come back before we can let him loose amongst the ‘open’ cows… πŸ™‚

      Reply
  4. I think it is wonderful. He is a handsome beast. I am sure you will get lots of photos of him over time. I love that last one as well. It seems yours country is not so different to ours.
    I’m heading up to my mums this week, so I will be photographing some country areas. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Thank you. Yes, I do think that there are lots of similar areas in our two countries, as the climate is also quite similar. Can’t wait to see some country pics! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  5. I’m not terribly familiar with farm animals but Adam looks like a big, healthy bull. I look forward to seeing his calves. Your moonrise is beautiful. I love the colors of the sky.

    Reply
    • Thank you Maralee! I’m also excited about his calves, although we’ll have quite a long wait before we’ll know what they look like. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  6. Adam is a fine looking beast and very reminicent of the Nkone I grew up with in the midlands of Zimbabwe, relatively small but tough varients of the Brahmans, I hope his offspring are super tasty.

    Reply
    • Thank you,sir! I’m not too sure yet about the ‘super tasty’ part, since they’re going to be my babies, but ultimately I know I’ll have to let go… πŸ˜‰

      Reply
    • Thank you,sir! I’m not too sure yet about the ‘super tasty’ part, since they’re going to be my babies, but ultimately I know I’ll have to let go… πŸ˜‰
      The Huguenot is a cross breed between the Afrikaner and the French Charolais. If you look at the Charolais, you’ll see the slight woolliness around the head, which is often seen in this new breed.

      Reply
      • cool that satisfies my idle curiosity. It will be difficult letting go but just think of what a great life they will have led prior to becoming steak in comparrison to nasty pink cellophane wrapped intensively reared steak from the supermarket.

      • True… Thanks, I’ll think of that when the time comes! πŸ™‚

  7. oh and your pictures are spectacular, there is no nead to talk yourself down, the moonrise is particularly beautiful and stand up all on it’s own.

    Reply
  8. He looks so regal like he’s part lion. πŸ™‚ Great shots considering he wasn’t in the mood to pose! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  9. Beautiful photos. All of them, the bull and the moon. My favorite place to spend my time as a kid was on my grandmother’s farm. Animals were raise for food, but loved, spoiled and cared for until the time came. I didn’t love that part, but learned to understand it and help. It is part of life and the animals were well cared for unlike the poor things that end up in packaged at the super market. The other alternative is to be a vegetarian and I eat lots of meatless meals. Only because I love vegetables!! πŸ˜‰

    Reply
    • Thank you, Shez! It’s going to be difficult for me to get my head around slaughtering them, but I’ll keep in mind what you said – that while they were alive, they had a good life! Thanks for stopping by. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  10. My dear zelmare! You have definitely made the transition from city “mouse” to country “mouse”! Your photos of Adam are sooo wonderful! I love the sunset photos of him. He looks very regal. And he’s huge! The background colors in the photos are so soft and really show him off well. The photo of him at the farm where he was born is great. You can see how many muscles he has.
    The shot of the moon is gorgeous!
    Please don’t put your photos down! You are very good! :=)

    Reply
    • Judy, thank you and thank you! I have a lot to learn, but I really appreciate your kind comments. Yes, I’m a country bumpkin now, and loving it! πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

