RSS Feed

What a day!!!

Posted on

Friday.

Yay!!!!!

It’s a long time since I’ve had such a draining day. For the first time in I- don’t- know -how- long, I just did not have enough hours in the day. Nothing earth shattering or life changing, just normal ‘stuff’ that needed to be done. I think what got to me was that a lot of it had to be done NOW, or yesterday…

In between all that, the veterinarian came to check on ten of our cows. We had to get them tested for bruscella and TB before we can put them with the bull, and the vet had to come back and check the TB results. Of course we had to get the cows from wherever they were peacefully grazing, and get them ย into the chute/forcing pen (?) where she could examine them. Twice. Because three of them had some reaction to the test, and she didn’t bring her measuring thingy with the first time. So we had to do it again.

And then there was the fire. As the vet and her assistant left, they casually mentioned that maybe we should go and check on the fire that had started right opposite our farm. By that time we could actually see the smoke billowing up into the air. So we rushed to the road to go and make sure the fire didn’t jump the road, and get to the farms on our side. Fortunately whatever wind there was, was blowing away from our farm, and the people from the area ย made sure no damage was done.

All in all a hectic day, and I am quite tired now, so I’m going to add my pic, and call it a day. Put my feet up, and enjoy some rugby. ๐Ÿ™‚

FIRE

 

Have a wonderful weekend!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

16 responses »

  1. What beautiful and frightening photo! I hope you and yours are safe.

    Some of my artโ€™s on wordpress and etsy too if youโ€™re interested:

    http://www.etsy.com/shop/letsgolescophotos.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  2. This is a great shot!!! I love how the sun is shining through the smoke :).

    Reply
  3. Beautiful photo, zelmare, I love the sunshine through the smoke, the star effect is lovely. But what an exhausting day! You are certainly up for farm work, though, I can tell! You go, girl!

    Reply
  4. Sjo – ek love die son in hierdie foto mammie!!! Beautiful!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ Klink na rowwe daggie wat jy agter die rug het!!! Mens het ma van hulle elke dan&wan!!! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Lotsofluuuuuuuurve!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ **

    Reply
  5. Sounds like a busy day. I’m glad the fire was going away from you. Fires make beautiful photos, as long as they aren’t a danger to anyone.

    Reply
    • It was busy – I was quite tired by the end of it, but it was also satisfying. Yes, fires can be very scary, but fortunately this time it was manageable. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Reply
  6. The vet visit sounds like an epic undertaking. Twice over. Then the fire. Wow, there aren’t enough hours in a day to deal with both of those and all the other normal daily requirements. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  7. That is a great shot ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  8. I love days like that. When you a so busy you almost don’t have time to think. Scary about the fire, glad it didn’t jump the road, love the photo.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

