RSS Feed

Cat among the pigeons…

Posted on

Or more to the point, Adam among the cows!

Yip. We got the results back from the vet today, and all our cows are healthy with no hidden illnesses, so, Adam can do his thing, and make us (hopefully!!!!) lots of healthy little calves.

I wish I took a video of the moment he realized the gate was open and he was free to go through to all the tempting young heifers!! It was hilarious!!! πŸ™‚ He skipped – yes, actually skipped through the gate, bellowing like a maniac, and then he galloped full steam down the road to where the cows and heifers were grazing. Oh, people, you should have seen that!!! πŸ˜€

Since I wasn’t ready with the camera to record Adam’s antics, I’ll have to use some totally unrelated pictures for something visual in my post.

On my very hectic Friday last week, I was busy clearing some scrub from around the area where the new water crib was going to go, when I noticed the prettiest little creeper. It had insinuated itself between grass stalks, and around a nasty prickly weed and up a tree trunk. What amazed me, was the daintiness of the plant. It has pretty curly leaves, beautiful bright coloured little fruits, and sweet little flowers – all on one plant!

The wind was blowing the whole afternoon, so I couldn’t use my macros setting. Some of the pictures needed that, as they are not as clear and focused as they should probably be, but I was adamant – I wanted some pictures of this delightful little veld plant.

The first thing I noticed as I was hacking away at the scrubby stuff, was this gorgeous orange fruit.

Orange fruit.

 

I then followed the tendrils and tentacles of the creeper, and I found the rest of the charming plant.

The pretty flowers.

 

Some of the fruits, not ripe yet.

 

Something of everything – flower, green fruit and ripe fruit which has already been eaten by the birds.

 

Well, another full and exciting day on and around the farm, and lots more to do this coming week.

Until next time, be blessed!! πŸ™‚

 

 

 

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

17 responses »

  1. Something as pretty as that…. not poisonous?? Seems to good to be true!!! Veeeeeery interesting fruit!!! Fascinating!! πŸ™‚ **

    Reply
  2. they’re related to cucumbers and full of water but taste kak (extremely bitter) although they’re not poisonous

    Reply
  3. These are beautiful photos, but oh how I wish I could have seen Adam skipping. You described it so well though that I could picture it in my mind, and I started giggling. I will cross my fingers that Adam has good genes for lots of healthy little calves!!

    Reply
  4. That’s too funny about Adam, I bet he is very happy.:)

    Reply
  5. Bulls are hilarious when they get let out to “mingle” with the cows, loved the photos!

    Reply
  6. oh goodness…..what were the females thinking as Adam skipped toward them? lol OH NO! HERE HE COMES! Hide!
    Your story certainly brings a graphic picture to mind! πŸ˜‰ I love your little discovery of the lovely plant! That orange is WOW! bright and beautiful. The flowers are lovely too. Great images! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
    • Well, two of the heifers actually got such a fright, they started running in the opposite direction! πŸ™‚
      Thanks, Judy, and it was a pleasure!

      Reply
    • Well, two of the heifers actually got such a fright, they started running in the opposite direction! πŸ™‚
      Thanks, Judy, and it was a pleasure!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

