RSS Feed

Ashes to ashes…or not!

Posted on

Nature is just so amazing.

A couple of months ago, we made fire-breaks at strategic places around the farm. It is something everybody with a farm has to do (by law!) but very few people bother. It often results in huge losses and then they wonder why! It can also lead to someone’s farm burning down because a neighbor felt it was unnecessary to make the effort.

Anyway, I don’t want to get on a soapbox, I just want to show evidence of the amazing recuperative powers of nature.

We made the fire-breaks as winter started, so throughout winter those pieces of land was mostly black, unfortunately, but soon new green shoots started showing all over. Today as I was enjoying being on the farm, I noticed this where we burned the grass:

Grass seeds in late afternoon sun.

And just see how very pretty these little fluffy cat tails are up close:

A fluffy tail.

And this one, where you can still clearly see the black of the fire.

More white fluff! ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m so glad that something we’ve basically destroyed, could come back twice as beautiful to show us humans a thing or two! ๐Ÿ™‚

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

6 responses »

  1. They’re beautiful. And such a lovely contrast with the black earth.

    Reply
  2. Aaaawww… hierdie is beautiful mammie!!!! Loves it!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ **

    Reply
  3. That is beautiful, I love stuff like that. Nature is amazing. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  4. That’s nature renewing itself! Wonderful. During those awful forest fires we have in the mountains in the U.S., the heat makes the pinecones pop open and their seeds fall out. The next season you can see new, baby pine trees growing in the fertile (nitrogen from fire) land. Miracles after devastation! Just like you see!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

