RSS Feed

Getting ready for the party…

Posted on

This coming weekend is the celebration of my SO’s* 50th birthday and he wants to do it on the farm, so we have a huge amount of work to do to be ready to host a party there. Remember, there is no house there – not a finished one, anyway! We’ve been building a cottage there over the last 18 months, but we’ve been doing it as we had the time and the money and the resources to do so. It is FAR from finished, though…

We got someone in to do a lapa for us. They started last week, and fortunately they know their stuff, so they are nearly finished. (A lapa is a thatch roof, normally just on wooden poles, that is used as an outside area of entertainment.) We still have lots of work to do to be able to entertain a lot of people there. But we’ll get there, I’m sure! πŸ™‚

We were there on Saturday, checking out the progress on the lapa, and as I was pottering around, I again noticed the support beams left on the front of the cottage. It sort of seemed ‘right’ to me that they are there – maybe I’ve just grown used to them being there, I don’t know. They have to come down sometime, but probably only once the deck has been built.

At one point I was just outside the cottage, looking away from it, and when I looked up, the sun was directly behind the support beams. To me that cried out for a picture, so I quickly fetched my camera from the car.

The picture didn’t come out quite as I imagined (surprise, surprise!), but somehow I sort of liked the weird angles, and I’m glad that I decided to do it in colour and B&W, as the B&W works well in this instance (I think)

Black & white cross.

I decided that the sun hitting the cross like that was a blessing on our little house and the farm, so I’m positive that we’ll have made enough progress by the weekend to have a wonderful party there, and that we’ll have lots of happy times there in future.

Until we chat again, be blessed! πŸ™‚

* Significant Other

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

9 responses »

  1. Baie cool mammie!! πŸ˜‰ **

    Reply
  2. it’s a great sillouette

    Reply
  3. Great shot! I hope it all comes together for the party.

    Reply
  4. Too bad all your blogging friends don’t live closer. We could crash the party! Wahooo!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

