RSS Feed

Third time lucky

Posted on

I’ve been running around this past week for various reasons.

A new calf (with a story, of course!), and a 50th birthday that I had to arrange. But today is all about the story of the new calf…

Last week this time, we had 3 cows very close to having their calves. I kept a very close watch on them, especially one that I just had a feeling would be the first one to calf. On Tuesday, there were some signs that the birth of the calf was imminent, and I kept driving past the Brahmans, to make sure she was okay. I saw her at around 2pm, and then when I got back from some errands, I saw her again, but something was different. She was still grazing with the other cows, but without going into too much gory detail, I had a very uneasy feeling. I said to my farm workers that we need to get her into the kraal, so that we can keep an even closer eye on her, in case the same thing happens again…

Well, that was some fun… We had a very hard time getting her into the kraal (we had to put them all into the kraal, and then try and separate her from the rest), and she kept fighting ferociously to get out, which she managed to do. Eventually I decided to leave her out, and let nature take it’s course.

I hardly slept that night, worrying about her and the calf. Very early the next morning, I rushed out to the farm, and told my cattle hand to come to the Brahmans with me. Again, she was grazing peacefully with the other cows. I watched her for a while, and said to Lucas – this cow has had her calf, I’m sure of it. (This might sound stupid and obvious, but believe me, shortly after the birth of a calf, it’s not obvious looking at a cow.) I decided that we have to search the breadth and length of the camp they were in, so we set off.

I was about halfway up, when Lucas came from the other side, shouting that he’s found the calf. My heart dropped into my shoes…not again, please!

Anyway, to make a very long story short, she had her calf the previous day, like my instinct screamed out at me, but it seems that she was not interested, or too stupid to know what to do. We forced her and the calf into the small camp, and left them with food and water, hoping they would bond.

Now I know this sounds easy, but this cow seemed like she had mad cow disease. She was ferocious! She kept storming us, kicking up dust and snorting at us. The one guy even had to climb up a tree to escape from her anger!! πŸ™‚ She stormed at the fence a couple of times, and nearly broke through.

Anyway, within the next 24 hours, they have ‘found’ each other, and now, 5 days later, they are walking around with all the other cows, and mom and baby are both doing wonderfully well!!!! I am SO very happy that we’ve at last got a new calf that I can tell everybody about. πŸ™‚

New baby, about three days ago.

Some attention from an older cousin.

The very mad mom – taken from a distance! πŸ™‚

Two of the older cousins, just to show you that we can actually raise calves successfully! πŸ™‚

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

20 responses »

  1. I’m so happy you had a successful ending to this story. Beautiful calf.

    Reply
  2. Oulik oulik oulik!!!! πŸ˜€ **

    Reply
  3. Yayyyyyy, a beautiful success story, and I know there will be many more :). This calf is a cutie pie!

    Reply
  4. Yippie! I wish them all happy lives.

    Reply
  5. That is fantastic news Zelmare, I am so glad you listened to your instincts. What strange cows they are, to have a baby and ignore it. Very weird. Congratulations on getting the calf.

    Reply
    • Thank you Leanne. I’m just very, very relieved that this little chap is doing okay. I will update his progress every once in a while, more for my own sake than anything else (a sort of reassurance)!

      Reply
  6. absolutely wonderful news Zelmare, I’m delighted for you.

    Reply
  7. Ahh, wonderful. Glad all is well and you survived the penning of the mama. They can be more than a little dangerous when cornered. πŸ˜€

    Reply
  8. I just nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blog award. Congratulations!

    http://birdmartin.wordpress.com/2012/08/08/another-inspiring-blogging-award/

    Reply
  9. Pingback: for Zelmare « Mr Bunny Chow

  10. Fantastic! I’m so glad it all worked out. Got the picture in my mind of the guy up the tree though πŸ™‚ Congratulations. There’s nothing quite as cute as a calf.

    Reply
  11. Yay! I’m so glad it worked out! Your story was written so well, I was hanging on every word! I didn’t know if finding him in the field would have a good ending or not! Whew!
    You are a great story-teller, Zelmare! Keep on telling us your good farm (and other) stories!
    I love to read them!

    Reply
    • Judy, it is so good to have you back! I’ve missed you. I thought I’d reply to all the calf comments in one, hope you don’t mind. It has been a difficult time for us, as we’ve been looking forward to the calves for a long time. And to loose two so soon after each other, was just horrible. But, we are so happy to see our new little guy hopping and skipping in the pasture with the other cattle now!!! πŸ™‚

      Thanks, Judy, I appreciate your kind comments. It is really nice to know that there are people out there that like to read my stories. πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

