RSS Feed

It’s a girl!

Posted on

I’m happy. πŸ™‚

I’m so happy, happy. πŸ™‚

This may not be something that will get your juices flowing, but I witnessed the birth of a calf today!!!! I’ve come to the ripe old age of *mumble*, and I’ve never seen a birth – not of a dog, a cat, a cow, not even really of a human baby. My kids were all 3 born by C-section, and that is the closest I’ve come to seeing a birth.

And not only did I see the calf being born, I saw it stagger to it’s feet, and wobble straight to Mommy Moo’s udder! Within a few minutes of it being able to get up, it was suckling. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

I’m not going to say too much about the whole event, but I’m happy, Mom’s satisfied, and Baby is strong and beautiful.

WARNING: IF YOU ARE IN THE LEAST SQUEAMISH, OR VERY CONSERVATIVE, DON’T LOOK ANY FURTHER PLEASE!!!!!!

Ooh OW, this hurts…

Some moral support arrives.

This is so tiring – let’s take a rest…

“Look Mom, I think I can sta… Oops, no!” πŸ™‚

“Aren’t I a pretty girl?”

Proud mom and beautiful baby. πŸ™‚

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

24 responses »

  1. What a beautiful thing to witness. I’d never seen a birth before my cat had kittens. It was exciting to watch.

    Reply
  2. So cute!

    Reply
  3. Awesome pictures, and she is a very pretty girl!! My husband and I almost witnessed the same thing the other day. If only we had been there a bit earlier. We were driving down the highway when Mike noticed a cow and a very tiny calf. Mike said, “I think that’s a newborn”. So, we turned around and drove back. Sure enough the calf was still wet and shaky on its feet and the afterbirth was still hanging out of the mother. You did way better with your photos though because as soon as I got out of the car with my camera, the protective mother got in front of the calf and they moved away. Darn!!

    Reply
    • Ah sweet! I was fortunate that the mother tolerated me. I think it was the pain and the fact that she was vulnerable, because this morning she wasn’t so sharing! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  4. This is AMAZING… I wish you made a video though πŸ™‚
    Seeing life… you should see how big my smile is right about now πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • I’m glad it didn’t freak you out. I thought of using the video application, but I wasn’t sure how long it was all going to take. It was amazing to witness. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  5. Aw that’s a once in a lifetime kind of experience! Terrific shots too! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. Sooooooooooooooo cool mammie!!!! Bietjie jiggie – maar super awesome!!! Bly jy kon dit ervaar!!! πŸ™‚ **

    Reply
    • Wanneer jy dit ervaar, is dit nie eers amper jiggie nie, dis net woes wonderlik! Veral as jy die volgende oggend daardie klein dingetjie sien rondtrippel agter ma aan !!! πŸ™‚ xx

      Reply
  7. bless, so precious, congratulations, mazal tov, etc. et al.

    Reply
  8. wow! I’ve never seen a birth either. So happy that she’s already nursing. Congrats!

    Reply
  9. Awwwww. That is a beautiful baby. Congratulations to you on your growing family!!

    Reply
  10. Congratulations, that is so amazing, I would have been crying watching it. The photos look great, so happy that it worked out for both of them. πŸ™‚

    Reply
  11. Yay! So happy! Congrats on the wee girl, she is soo cute! And I love your photos….
    Love her little face looking at you from under the tree! Awww…so darling! And she’s eating! yay!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

