RSS Feed

Halfway!

Posted on

It is around lunchtime here, and I feel like I already have a full day behind me!!! πŸ™‚

I got to the farm relatively early today. We had to start the generator to fill up the water tank, before the guys could continue fixing the one fence they started on yesterday, so they could go on to do the new fence of which they did the fence posts yesterday… So…while they were unloading the generator, I took time to breathe deeply and appreciate the beauty of the morning.

It has been partially overcast since we got up this morning, so the light was not as bright. But, my goodness, was it a pretty sunrise anyway!!!! πŸ™‚ Because of the clouds, the sun had to find holes to break through to try and reach the earth. I took several pictures of these soft fingers of light poking through the clouds, and they were all nice enough because of the colours, but then at last I managed to take one picture where one could clearly see the rays!

Sun fingers touching the earth.

Doesn’t this look like God blessing the earth? πŸ™‚

Then we had to burn a huge heap of weeds that we had to remove from one of the camps. This weed is called ‘bankrotbossie’ – a direct translation would be ‘bankrupt bush’. This weed starts growing very slyly on your land, and before you can blink, it has taken over completely and there is no more grass left for the cattle to eat.

A weed bonfire! πŸ™‚

We had a bonfire before eight in the morning!!

The vet came at 10 to do the tests for Bovine Viral Diarrhee, which was huge fun again, because it was the Brahmans that needed to be tested, and the fierce mama wasn’t about to start making things easy for us. And a couple of the others started being obstinate as well. The test couldn’t have been comfortable for them, as it involved having a small triangle cut out of their one ear!!! I couldn’t take pictures of this, as I was very much involved in all the catching and prodding and clipping, etc. (Do I hear a few sighs of relief? πŸ™‚ )

And then, (oh what hardship!!) I had coffee with my ‘sister-in-law’ at a new place that opened in town. Pheeeewww! Now I’m tired πŸ˜‰ and half of the day left still…

A couple more of the sunrise/ray pictures of this morning.

Soft sunrise.

Rays and cattle.

*********************************

I know some of you must be bored with all the cattle stuff, so if you are one of them, please just skip this next bit. I thought I’d just give a brief update on our two babies. I’ll not say much, except that they seem to be doing very well, and I’ll let the pictures speak for themselves. πŸ™‚

Calf 1, the little bull, is now 3 weeks old. Here he is nibbling delicately on a stalk of grass, with an older cousin next to him. πŸ™‚

Calf 2, our pretty little girl – she is 1 week old now!

Until we chat again, be blessed!! πŸ™‚

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

16 responses »

  1. glad your babies are doing well, love the pictures of “Gods fingers” they work brilliantly.

    Reply
  2. Wow mammie – jou fotos is stunning!!! Great kleure!!! So bly om te hoor die kalfies doen goed – hulle lyk te cute!!! πŸ™‚ **

    Reply
  3. I’m never bored with the cattle stuff!! They are adorable :), and I’m so glad they are doing well! As for your first photo of the rays of sunshine shooting out from behind the clouds, it is stunningly gorgeous!! You caught the moment perfectly. Well done :).

    Reply
    • Glad to hear that, because I’ve got a feeling that you guys are going to hear and see a lot about the cattle in future… Thank you very much! I do so love the atmosphere when the rays burst through like that! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  4. Wow! Those are awesome photos! Glad to hear the two babies are doing well πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. Those last two sunrise images are so gorgeous, I am slightly jealous. You seem to so busy, that is good I suppose. Lovely to hear more from you. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Gee Leanne, thank you for that very kind comment! πŸ™‚ Yes, being busy is good, I just don’t have enough time to try out new things with my photos, or read like I used to, but maybe if I plan better, I’ll get there. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  6. Wonderful photos! And what a busy day. I’ve been up for an hour so far and still haven’t managed to get much done. Good for you!

    Reply
  7. I just found your blog through Leanne Cole Photography – and IΒ΄m so glad I did!

    IΒ΄ve really enjoyed looking through your posts, and yes, IΒ΄m converted. You have a new follower! πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Hi Marianne!!! Thank you so much for that lovely comment! And thank you for taking the time to get to know me a bit. Welcome, I’m looking forward to getting to know you too! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  8. Oh zelmare….your photography is stunning! I love your sunrise photos…..and your words are perfect~”soft fingers of light”. What a beautiful phrase. It surely does look like God blessing the earth. I never tire of your cattle photos and stories. It’s so different from anyone else’s blog! I learn so much from you, and the babies are so cute to look at! (so are the adults!) So keep it up, girl!!

    Reply
    • Judy, thank you very much! You are too kind… I’ll probably keep writing about my babies and their moms, even if some people find them boring – they are very close to my heart! πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

