RSS Feed

Newsflash 1: Out with the Old, In with the New.

Posted on

I cannot believe that time can fly like it has been the last couple of weeks!!! I just don’t get around to posting something! Either I don’t have pictures, or I don’t have time, or everybody is so busy using the laptop, that I cannot get to it.

Last time I posted a piece, I mentioned something about news. Well, the first HUGE ‘happening’ was this…

I had a birthday last week, which is just something that happens to all of us once a year, so that is not the news. πŸ˜‰ The amazing man in my life, has been watching me blog and take pictures for my blog, and just generally whip out my camera every time I see something worth snapping. He has been very patient whenever we go somewhere to stop and ‘allow’ me to get out and do my thing.

So he decided that my trustworthy, loyal little Samsung digital is not good enough anymore, and he bought me another camera for my B-day. And folks, not just any camera!!!!!

So, I have to sort of say ‘goodbye’to this:

The Old – My trusty little Samsung S750.

And ‘hallo’ to this:

The New – Canon EOS 600D with extra lens.

I never even dreamed of owning something like that, so I was over the moon, believe you me!!! πŸ™‚

But…now I have to live up to my camera… It is this very amazing piece of equipment, and I’m sure it can do pretty amazing things, but I don’t even know where to start. My wonderfully clever, and extremely patient daughter tried to teach me a few basics on Sunday. I now have to go out and practice by taking thousands of pictures, and hopefully someday, I’ll be able to take a few decent photographs…

Am I a very lucky girl, or what? πŸ˜€

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

18 responses »

  1. Wowwwwwwww, that is awesome!!!! And it’s a Canon – great choice. That’s even better than my new camera :). You have one amazing man there who seems to truly understand you and what makes you happy. Hold on to that one for sure!! And don’t let the camera overwhelm you. I still don’t know half the things that my camera can do, but it’s so much fun to experiment. If it has an automatic mode, just try that for the first little bit until you get used to things. By the way, Happy Birthday!!!!!!

    Reply
    • I have to agree – totally awesome!!! πŸ™‚ I’m planning to hold onto this special man with all my might, believe me… I also thought that I’ll start slowly, and try new things as I get more comfortable, but I’m impatient by nature, so we’ll have to see how that goes! πŸ™‚ Thanks Cindy, Much appreciated!

      Reply
  2. Happy Happy happy face!!! πŸ˜€ Don’t say goodbye to the small one completely – it is still very handy (&small) for those times that the DSLR is just to big to carry around for that quick snap!!! Enjoy the camera to bits mommy!!!!! You are going to have soooooooo much fun!!! πŸ™‚ **

    Reply
    • I think he’s got a permanent space in my handbag, just too handy to have around all the time for those unexpected shots, so I won’t abandon him just yet! πŸ™‚ Thanks Poppedol, I most certainly will enjoy my new gadget!! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  3. YouΒ΄ll have great fun with your new camera, but as youΒ΄ve already said, your Samsung will be with you everywhere you go.

    Belated Birthday wishes and now you can enjoy the best of both worlds with your cameras!

    Reply
    • Thanks, Marianne! Yes, I’m looking forward to taking some time off to really get to know my Canon, but my little Samsung will always be close at hand. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  4. Congrats Zelmare… I would highly recommend buying Understanding Exposure by Brian Peterson… its such an easy read and it will get you introduced to all the fundamentals of photography. You won’t regret it, I promise πŸ™‚

    Reply
  5. Ah, what a thoughtful gift! Tell your amazing man, I also think he’s amazing. have fun with the camera, and I look forward to seeing your progress.

    Reply
  6. Wowee! Now that’s a present! A couple of exercises from school when I took photography lessons were: (1) choose something you think is uninteresting and take dozens of pictures of it (it could be an object, or place like a parking lot); and (2) choose one subject and again take as many photos of it as you possibly can. You’ll be an expert in no time! Belated happy birthday and enjoy your camera πŸ™‚

    Reply
  7. wow congratulations, you’re going to have so much fun learning, as as cindy says, if in doubt whack it on the green box and let it think for you.

    Reply
  8. You certainly are very lucky. Happy Birthday

    Reply
  9. WONDERFULL! I can tell you are gong to have GREAT FUN with it. And that SO of yours– Pretty good guy it seems.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

