RSS Feed

Lost, and found

I had an eventful day yesterday.

I had to treat the cattle for ticks. That involved getting them into the ‘kraal’, and then into the chute, so I could pour a special solution onto their backs that would kill off the ticks. Loooooong story short, the new momma took exception to me getting too close to her and the calf in the ‘kraal’, and she charged me. Yip, she made me fly like Superman…

I landed flat on my back, with her snorting down into my face. I can’t remember too much of the episode, though. All I remember is the charge, and me on my back with her over me. When I got up, my pants were ripped to shreds, and I could feel where my head hit the ground.

Today I’m feeling sore all over, and because I cannot remember much, I can’t for the life of me figure out why my hip feels like it is out of joint, or why it feels like someone kicked me on the inside of my knee… I think she butted me with her head too, because my shoulder, neck and jaw hurt like hell.

And today, I can laugh about it. Can you just picture it? This wannabe farmer on her back, screaming at the cow to go away? Hilarious. 🙂

Since it was a physical impossibility for me to grab my camera and take pictures of this little comedy, I thought I’d post this very simple picture of a feather that a guinea fowl lost next to the road on the farm. I was walking along there a few days ago, when I found this pretty feather lying there in the grass, and I couldn’t resist taking a pic. (This was taken with my little Samsung.)

Guinea fowl lost it, I was lucky enough to find it! :0

I’m taking photographs with my new camera, and I’ll soon start using more and more of them on the blog – as soon as I’ve got a few that doesn’t look too much like ‘practice shots’!!! 🙂

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

10 responses »

  1. OMG!!!! You are so lucky that you weren’t more seriously hurt! I will admit that I did giggle when I pictured you flying like Superman, but the rest of it just had my jaw dropping in shock. I’m glad that you are ok, although very sore! Take care and rest, and stay away from that Mama cow!! Loved the feather by the way :).

    Reply
    • It does bring up a funny picture, doesn’t it? 🙂 Yes, on a serious note, things could have ended differently, and the SO is extremely upset with me for not being more careful. I’ve learnt a lesson though! Thanks Cindy! 🙂

      Reply
  2. Goodness. I’m glad your okay and that you can laugh about it. I bet your sore, though. I wish you a speedy recovery.

    Reply
  3. So glad you’re okay. Sounds like it could have been pretty serious. Lovely feather though.

    Reply
  4. Sjoe mammie – klink of dit erger is as wat ek verbeel het!!!! Bly jy is okay though…. moet sleg wees om nie te weet hoe/waar/wanneer nie!!! … 😉 **

    Reply
  5. OUCH! Mothers protecting their offspring, huh? Hope the aches and pains soon subside.

    Gorgeous photo of the guinea fowl feather looking so delicate 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

