RSS Feed

Mellow Yellow

On Wednesday and Thursday, I took my new camera with to the farm in the late afternoon, to see if I could get an opportunity to take some pictures. I’ve been ‘playing’ with the camera to familiarize myself with it, and I’ve also tried to take a few serious pictures. Not a single one came out ‘wow! I have to share this!’, but I’m going to share a few in a series anyway, because I need the feedback.

On my drive around the farm, I saw this pretty tree. At first nothing amazing, just a tree with a pretty shape. When I got closer, though, I noticed that this tree was covered in the most beautiful yellow flowers! It was a happy tree, so I thought I’d try and capture some of it’s beauty.

Just so you know – my main aim was to play with focus. I was trying to get the bits I wanted to photograph in focus, and not the bits around it. It didn’t work all the time, but some came out OK. (I was trying manual focus.) The other thing was that the flowers were quite high up the tree, so I had to aim upwards all the time. Not an excuse, I know! πŸ™‚ Once I’m more comfortable with the camera I’m sure this will be a breeze! Talking of breezes, there was quite a strong breeze blowing, so I needed to get my timing right as well.

So, here goes!

Nothing much at first sight, I know!

Some of the first flower attempts.

A bit closer.

A pretty leaf cluster that caught my eye.

More fresh leaves and some berries (unopened flowers?)

While standing there trying to capture some flower pics, I heard a buzzing, and realized that there were hundreds of bees flying around. They were going crazy trying to sip at all the flowers, and it seemed that they were racing to see who could get to the most flowers in the shortest time. I’ve seen some of your amazing bee photos, and I tried to just catch one in a picture. I don’t have to tell you that it’s not easy! πŸ™‚ I have quite a few bee pictures – all out of focus! With the second to last attempt, I managed to get the bee more or less in focus, but the rest…well, not so much! πŸ™‚

Bees feasting.

Oi vey! I have a lot to learn yet! But, that’s fine by me, it’s a fun journey. πŸ™‚

After Wednesday’s adventure with the cow mama, I am feeling a lot better today. Thanks to all for your concern, I really appreciate it!

And that’s another week gone! Happy Friday to you, and enjoy the weekend! πŸ™‚

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

9 responses »

  1. I think you are doing really well with your new camera. It takes a while to get used to the functions – and some of them you will probably never master if youΒ΄re anything like me!

    The main thing is that you are prepared to keep practicing, learning and enjoying yourself!

    Well done with the bee BTW!

    Reply
    • Thanks! Yes, there are just so many functions, I think what’s left of my lifetime is too short to learn everything! But I’ll see how many I can master. And thank you again, you are too kind! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  2. I think you are doing fabulously, and you are far more adventurous than me because I never use manual focus! Good for you :).

    Reply
  3. I like how you show the big picture and then start to explore the bits and pieces. Nice work. I struggle getting shots of bees, Keep up the good work!

    Reply
  4. I think they’re wonderful. What a happy, pretty tree.

    Reply
  5. I think the photos look great. Though, at the time I know what you mean about not being happy with images you are taking. I look back at the images I first started taking when I got a SLR, they weren’t good. I am so happy you are getting out there doing this. I love the flowers, I really like that first one though of the tree, the colours are beautiful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

