RSS Feed

the Wonder of Nature

Posted on

We’ve had some rain 2 nights ago, and it is amazing how quickly things change in nature after some rain! πŸ™‚

I’ve noticed some pretty stuff out there in the veld, and I thought I’d just post a few random pictures that I’ve taken over the last few days.

I just have to mention, quickly, that I’ve had a very full, very emotional day yesterday. You remember my post on the first time I saw a calf being born? Well, that little calf (who has, in the meantime, been named Daisy by my SO’s daughter) nearly died yesterday of a disease quite feared by cattle farmers in this area. Cattle raised in the area is supposed to be immune, but it seems little Daisy was vulnerable to it. Long story short, she was very sick yesterday and had convulsions in the evening. The vet came out quickly, and told us that the only thing she can do, is give the calf an injection of Valium, to relax her whole body, but she thinks that she might be too far gone to be saved. But, thank You God, she is still alive today, and she actually drank from her mother a bit earlier today, which is a very good sign!!!!! πŸ™‚ She looks a bit the worse for wear, but so far, so good…

On to the pretty stuff!

Pretty yellow flowers

 

Out-of-season orange blossoms.

 

Buds. Soon -to-be yellow flowers! πŸ™‚

 

The pretty-yellow-flower plant!

 

Raindrops.

 

Raindrop with sand.

 

Close up of a fan shaped plant.

 

Dewdrop catching the early morning sun.

 

All of the above was taken with my little Samsung, since I always have it with me. πŸ™‚

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

12 responses »

  1. Super nifty!!!! πŸ˜‰ Hope the calf survives this disease mommy!! πŸ™‚ **

    Reply
  2. Beautiful photos. I hope the calf is okay. I don’t think I could do what you do . . . I would just be too emotional to handle it all.

    Reply
  3. There are some lovely photos there of what is growing. Nature can be a beautiful thing and it can be quite harsh. I hope the calf continues to get better.:)

    Reply
  4. So nice to see buds and flowers in your beautiful photos after seeing our first bit of snow this morning!! And I’m sure keeping my fingers crossed for that little calf :).

    Reply
    • Yes, I still enjoy how we are at complete opposites as far as the seasons go! πŸ™‚ Thanks, she’s still holding on!

      Reply
  5. Beautiful flowers – the sign of a welcoming spring πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. I hope Daisy pulls through! I love love love your shots of the raindrop and dewdrop. Stunning! Thanks for reminding me what a beautiful world we live in. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • It seems as if she made it…I’m still cautiously optimistic, but she’s eating and drinking and walking around with mom, so I think she’ll be OK. Thanks for caring. And thank you, and it’s a pleasure! πŸ™‚ Have a wonderful day!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

