RSS Feed

I’m a Survivor!

Posted on

It’s a miracle!!! Yes folks, we think she’s made it!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ ย I cannot begin to tell you how happy and relieved we are about this calf’s recovery.

Our little Daisy was seen frolicking in the grass this morning, trying to entice the young bulls to play with her. I think she misses her young friends from the main herd. She was constantly seen there with Mathilda, a young contemporary of hers. They were always chasing each other around, or grazing together, even napping together. So, tomorrow morning, we’ll let her and mom go back to their friends, as the little madam is eating and drinking normally again. ๐Ÿ™‚ ย (The vet didn’t think that she’ll survive this terrible sickness, that’s why I think it’s a miracle.)

I’m a Survivor!!!! Daisy and mom, taking some time out yesterday.

Daisy & Mathilda, about 5 days before Daisy got sick.

 

* For those of you interested in knowing more about this dreaded disease (amongst cattle farmers, that is) called heartwater, here is a link with a bit of info ย  – ย http://www.ubisimail.co.za/pdf_files/dec_10/HEARTWATER.pdf

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

15 responses »

  1. Yippeeee kiyeaH!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€ **

    Reply
  2. What a wonderful piece of news!! I guess that’s a reminder to all of us to stay positive and never give up hope because miracles do happen :).

    Reply
  3. I’m so happy to hear that she is doing well. Great news.

    Reply
  4. Great news… glad that is survived ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  5. So so happy for Daisy and you! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  6. That is wonderful news Zelmare.

    Reply
  7. That’s wonderful…happy frolicking!

    Reply
  8. Whew!! What a scare. So glad your baby is well and on the mend. I did follow the link. It is quite the process to get rid of the ticks. No sure the animals would be too keen on dipping. But that may not be quite the same as dunking. Either way, it must be a difficult process. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply

Leave a Reply

