RSS Feed

Come fly away with me…

Posted on

I’ve been wanting to take pictures of birds in flight for a loooooooooong, long time.

And I’ve tried.Many times. But they’ve always failed. Without fail. πŸ˜‰

So, now I’ ve got a new camera, and I thought I’d try again. I’m not too displeased with the results, although they are very far from stunning and perfect. But they are not too bad a start. I think.

But more importantly, what do you think? Honestly?

I saw this heron perched on a man-made hilltop, and thought it might make a nice picture.

Blackheaded Heron checking out the surroundings.

The next moment it took off, and I had some trouble finding it in my view finder again, but eventually I did.

Heron in flight.

Next, I thought I’d give a try at getting some shots of the cows’ constant companions, the Cattle Egret. They feast every day on the ticks that are always around cattle.

Cattle Egret.

And of course, as I got closer, they too took off.

Egret taking off.

Egret in flight.

These were the only pics worth saving and/ showing, but I’ve enjoyed trying, and we’ve got many, many birds around here… Β You are warned – lots of bird pictures still to come!

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

12 responses »

  1. I can’t wait to see more bird pictures because these are fabulous!! You did a great job, and I think that new camera of yours is going to become your new best friend :). Keep it up and remember what I have been told many times – even professional photographers can go out and shoot hundreds of photos only to end up with a handful of keepers.

    Reply
    • πŸ˜€ Thank you so very much, Cindy! Yes, I think you’re right – when I don’t have my camera with me, I always feel like i’m losing out on possible pictures. And thanks for the reminder there, I do tend to forget that!!! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  2. Keep them coming πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. Love these – last one’s my favourite!!! πŸ™‚ **

    Reply
  4. Photographing birds is very hard, but I think you did a great job, and as you practice they will just keep better and better. Great job Zelmare.

    Reply
  5. I’m looking forward to it!

    Reply
  6. Birds in flight are so hard to capture. I love the heron. But the egret in flight is AMAZING!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

