RSS Feed

Rainy day people

Posted on

“Rainy day people always seem to know when it’s time to call

Rainy day people don’t talk, they just listen till they’ve heard it all…”

Gordon Lightfoot

(Beautiful song, worth a listen – http://www.songlyrics.com/gordon-lightfoot/rainy-day-people-lyrics/)

We’ve been lucky the last couple of weeks – we’ve had quite a bit of rain. 🙂

There are always predictions – the wind didn’t blow in August, so it’s going to be a dry year; the winter was very cold, so we’ll have lots of rain, etc., but basically you never know what kind of rainy season you’re going to have. Even if it starts off this good, our actual rainy season is later in summer and it might not rain enough then. But I’m all for living in the moment (or at least trying to!), so I’m very happy with the rain we’ve had. Parts of the country have actually had floods, which is unfortunate.

As I’ve told you before, I LOVE rainy weather! I don’t mind if it rains for a week without a break. I find the cosiness of  snuggling up under a blanket with something hot to drink and a book, very appealing. And, like I’ve also mentioned before (probably a few times…), I really don’t like hot weather, so I’m a happy camper at the moment! 🙂

And because I love clouds, and rain, and nature, and trees, I’ve been taking a lot of pictures of clouds gathering before the rain, trees with clouds, the veld with clouds, etc. So I picked one pic for this post. I don’t think it’s the best one, but with so many to choose from, it’s difficult to decide.

Tree before the rain.

 

I frequently tramped eight or ten miles through the deepest snow to keep an appointment with a beech-tree, or a yellow birch, or an old acquaintance among the pines.  ~Henry David Thoreau

Well, not quite, since we hardly ever get snow in South Africa, and much less here, but I think you get what I’m trying to say! 🙂

*****

I’ve tried not to do cow and calves for a while, but I won’t be able to contain myself much longer, since we’ve had quite a few babies born in the last while – the youngest yesterday morning.  Daisy and Mom are back with all their friends and it was a very happy reunion! So watch out for another Cattle Post!!! 🙂

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

12 responses »

  1. Wow!!!! Hierdie is a stunning foto mammie!!! Love die kleur!!!! 🙂 **

    Reply
  2. That is a really stunning image Zelmare, I can’t believe you don’t think it is the best one, the others must be totally amazing. I love the mood and light in this. You have done really well.

    Reply
    • Wow, thanks Leanne! What I meant was just that because I’ve got so many pics of storms gathering/clouds, etc., I found it difficult after looking through them all, which ones were really good, and which ones was just…pictures. They are from different times, so the colours and compositions were all different. Thanks, I couldn’t resist the dark clouds gathering. 🙂

      Reply
  3. Totally agree with what Leanne said – a stunning photo 🙂

    Can´t wait to see the calves!

    Reply
  4. Wonderful shot!! I love how the dark, imposing sky makes the green of the trees pop out. Which camera did you take this with by the way?

    Reply
  5. Great photo. Enjoy the rain for me. We’ve been having wind and light rain, but not enough for me.

    Reply
  6. My entire family teases me for loving rainy days. I like the overcastness, the puddle traipsing in rain boots. The sleeping in and curling up with a book. Great picture of the sky and the tree–very atmospheric!

    Reply
  7. Gorgeous photo zelmare! Just spectacular! I love the dark broiling skies behind the lovely, solitary tree. Happy for your rain! Gordon Lightfoot is such a fave of mine! Went to see him ages ago! Love his music…so perfect for your post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

