RSS Feed

Patience…and precious time

Posted on

Today I’m doing something completely different!!

I read Terry’s blog just now, and I found the concept of the daily prompt quite interesting, so I decided to join in. The ‘rules’ are as follows:

Pick a random word and do Google image search on it. Check out the eleventh picture it brings up. Write about whatever that image brings to mind.

(http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2012/10/30/daily-prompt-5/)

And since Terry already used my first choice for a word, I went with one that I am seriously lacking – PATIENCE!!!! And this is picture no.11:

 

 

Right.

We all know that ‘patience is a virtue’ – no surprises there. I know it too…I’ve heard it often enough from people witnessing my absolute lack of said virtue. πŸ™‚

What thoughts and emotions does this picture bring up?

Well, to start off with, I like the lack of ‘stuff’ and distractions in the picture. I wish that every time I lose my patience, I have as little stimuli around me – that will definitely help calm me down. But life is not like that. We are surrounded by people, and motor cars, and noise, and other things, which normally aggravates the situation.

I also know for a fact that this picture is misleading. I can look like that cat. I can sit or stand very still and look like I’m waiting patiently, but inside everything is churning and bubbling away… The muscles and nerves are all bunched up and ready to pounce!

I’ve tried. I really have tried to be more patient, but I’m sorry to say, I don’t think I’ve made any headway. So my loved ones will just have to use me up the way I am! πŸ™‚

*******

Like I mentioned in my previous post, I’m spending some precious time with my one and only daughter to do some very important stuff for the wedding. I am loving the time with her, and I’m packing away memories like crazy, to help me through tough times to come…

My special girl, having lunch last week after we bought the sexy sandals for the big day. πŸ™‚

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

13 responses »

  1. Great post, and I’m so glad you’re enjoying making some awesome memories with Xandre :). Enjoy every moment and stock up on hugs!!

    Reply
    • Thanks, Cindy! πŸ™‚ Yes, it’s very special, and I am enjoying every moment. Although the reality of what’s to come sneaks up on me every now and then…

      Reply
  2. This is a special time for both of you. Enjoy it all…and I don’t have patience either. I try and sometimes I succeed. More often, I fail.

    Reply
  3. Suuuuuuuuuuuper yayness for some extra special quality time!!! πŸ™‚ Loving every moment!! I don’t have patience either (must have got that from you!!! πŸ˜‰ )… So thank goodness the dress pattern came today!!! Cheers for patience!!! πŸ˜€ **

    Reply
  4. Patience if a virtue, I was told over and over when I was growing up, you are so impatient, I haven’t changed much, I just keep it to myself myself more.
    Glad you are getting to spend more time with your daughter and I can understand what you mean about tough times ahead. We did something similar to my mother, but when went we had a four month old baby, and she was didn’t want to miss out on her growing up. We came back eventually.

    Reply
  5. i am not nearly as patient as I used to be, but the stress of caring for my brother has taken its toll on me, but what causes me to lose patience is a busy signal on the telephone. lol, no patience for me then!!!!! hehe

    Reply
  6. When I was teaching kindergarten, people always said….Oh you are so patient! I looked at them, thinking>>>>WHAT? I’m not patient!!! Perhaps when teaching 5 year olds, but not in the rest of my life! lol πŸ™‚ I’m looking for a photo of the sexy sandals!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

