RSS Feed

Purple Rain

Posted on

I spent nearly a week with my daughter, and what a wonderful week it was!!!! πŸ™‚

We were busy. She still had to work, but I had a lot to do as well, so the first three days were spent running my own errands, some of hers (ours, actually, as it was for the Big Day!), and spending evenings with her. And then we had the weekend!!! We accomplished SO much, and made beautiful memories along the way. It was a special time.

The first day I was there, she took us ‘picture hunting’. More specifically, she wanted to photograph the Jacaranda trees in Pretoria. Let me explain a bit more. Pretoria is known in South Africa as the Jacaranda City, because of the countless trees lining the streets of the city. It is not an indigenous tree, but it is oh, so very beautiful. It flowers around this time of the year, and it is a spectacular sight!

I know she took a some gorgeous pictures and I don’t want to spoil it for her, but I know we look at things from different angles, Β so I cannot resist posting one of my pictures.

Glorious Jacaranda flowers.

Can you imagine streets full of huge trees covered in these flowers?

PS Because of my week away, I couldn’t quite manage to stay on top of the new postings, so forgive me if I don’t get around to you.

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

19 responses »

  1. Loved every moment of our time together!!! Thank you so much for all your trouble – I appreciate your insets & hard work in making this a special day for me!!!! Love your Jakarandas – post more!!! Don’t think I am going to get round to processing some of mine (which is obviously WAY different!!!!) Much loveness!!!!! πŸ™‚ **

    Reply
  2. ArenΒ΄t Jacaranda trees beautiful? We have them in our garden here in southern Spain, but IΒ΄ve also seen them in many other countries around the world. They are especially stunning in cities where there are lots of them – certainly earning the title of your post “Purple Rain” when they shed their blossoms πŸ™‚

    Reply
  3. Enjoy your time!!!!! Don’t worry about us–we are always here. This is such a big thing for all of you. I wish all of you the best and much happiness!

    Reply
  4. I’m so happy that you are enjoying your special time with Xandre :). I can tell you two have a beautiful relationship, and it warms the heart! Your Jacaranda tree shot is wonderful, and I agree with Xandre that you should post more because everything is dead around here now, so beautiful blooms make me smile :).

    Reply
  5. Can’t wait to see what she posts πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. It is a beautiful sight to see the ground littered with purple. Do you have any pictures of this?

    Reply
  7. The Jacaranda tree is one of the most beautiful trees I’ve seen. I wish we had them here.

    Reply
  8. Jacarandas are very popular here as well. They are so lovely when they are flowering. I have one growing in my front yard, but it is new, so it will be a few years before it flowers.
    So lovely that you can spend time with your daughter, I can understand how important that is for you right now.

    Reply
    • Yes, as far as I know, they came to SA from Aus. We are lucky to have quite a few on the farm.
      Yes, even though time is short, I’m trying to fit in as much time with her as possible. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  9. How wonderful to be able to spend a lot of time with Xandre! Your relationship with Xandre reminds me of mine with my daughter. We don’t live in the same city, but we enjoy being together very much when we can. Those are special times, building special memories.
    I love Jacaranda trees! My parents had a huge one in their yard in Florida. The blooms were spectacular! We live too far north to have one. Enjoy your time together!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

