RSS Feed

Color Crazy

Posted on

I don’t know why this is, but I feel compelled to post this picture.

It is one of those ‘nothing’ pictures. Really, just a picture I took because …I don’t know why. I had breakfast with my daughter and a few of her friends in this very charming place called Isabella’s. Both Xan and I loved the decor – a cross between French and funky, modern and vintage. And at one point, after I finished eating, I looked down … and had to take the picture! And now I have to post it. It just won’t go away… πŸ™‚

It is weird, because the colors are just crazy! They don’t match, but somehow, in the big picture of the place, it works.

Crazy colors.

 

I’m feeling a bit schizophrenic at the moment, with all the excitement of the wedding (their excitement, my sadness and excitement), the wonderful expectation of the upcoming holiday in Europe, the torn and sad feeling of knowing my daughter is leaving, etc. And I’ve said all of this before, and I probably will a few times more. Please excuse my rambling on the subject, and my continuous mulling over of the same stuff – I’ll get over it eventually, I promise!!! And I am happy and excited for the young couple too, even if it doesn’t sound that way! πŸ™‚

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

18 responses »

  1. No apologies necessary. This is an exciting time,and also bitter sweet. Your blogging buddies will understand you need to talk about it.

    Reply
  2. My parents said they struggled a lot with me leaving Toronto… them knowing that I’m at a happier place though has helped them cope. Regardless, it must be hard on you as a parent…

    Reply
  3. Please ramble away, I can understand, and I realise how heartbreaking this is. I think back to the times when people did this a lot, here in Australia there is a such a history of people moving here from the other side of the world and back then, there would have been no thoughts of ever seeing them again, we are lucky now, you will be able to skype her all the time and talk to her, and she will come back and visit. I know that doesn’t help, so please ramble.

    Reply
    • Thank you Leanne, for your patience and shoulder to cry on! Really much appreciated. I’ll probably ramble for a bit longer, and then I’ll pull myself out of it by my bootstraps. Skype will help, but it’s just not the same, is it?

      Reply
  4. Ramble all you want, zelmare. We understand….I’ve been there! We’ll listen. It’s a difficult time, a mixture of happiness and mourning. Take one day at a time. You’ll get through it. And you’ll be able to visit her…what fun that will be. Hang in there, my friend.

    Reply
    • Thank you so much, Judy. At the moment this influences everything else in my life, and I’m short tempered and moody. I don’t like being like that, but I’m trying to do as you say – taking it a day at a time. I know I’ll survive, and if I can ever manage to go and visit, it’ll be a bonus. πŸ™‚

      Reply
  5. PS…I just love your plate photo! Just the kind of place I adore! I’m so glad you shared your photo! I love funky, French, vintage…. What was on the plate before you took the photo! πŸ˜‰ Was it as delicious as the place appears to be?!!

    Reply
    • Thank you! πŸ™‚ Yes it was delicious! It was a breakfast ‘pastry’, I suppose you’ll call it. Puff pastry shell, filled with cheese, small tomatoes and basil – yum! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  6. I wish I was there so that I could give you a big, huge hug :). Ramble, cry, yell – do whatever you have to do – we will be here for you!!

    Reply
    • Ah, thanks, Cindy. Really appreciate that so much. I’m nearly off back to Pretoria again, to celebrate Xan’s birthday, and….to do a fitting of the wedding dress!!!! πŸ˜€

      Reply
  7. Oulike foto’tjie mammie!!!! Love jou stukkend baie – veraltyd!!! … ❀ **

    Reply
  8. Zelmare, if anyone ever told us how incredibly hard it would be when we have done such a good job of raising children into responsible adults and they leave us, I wonder if we would have taken on the job? So cry, mourn, be happy in knowing what a wonderful gift you are sharing with the world. Will that make you feel better? No, not for a second. You have joined a very big sisterhood who all know how it feels. Tears of joy and sorrow all look the same, they just feel so different. The pain in your heart is real.

    Reply
    • Shez, how very well put. Thank you for your kind words, and in a small way it does make me feel better to think about it that way. I know the next couple of months will be very, very hard for me, but I have wonderful blog friends that are very supportive, so I’ll get through it.

      Reply
  9. I love the colors and prints. It’s eye-catching. Very cool! And mull away. We all have to work our way through stuff. Sometimes it takes several tries to get there. πŸ™‚ Big things going on–sometimes it helps to write about them until something clicks.

    Reply
    • Thank you! Yes, it sometimes takes a while to get things into perspective, or to adjust to new (radical, crazy!) ideas, but I’ll get there, and I’ll try not to drive everybody else crazy in the process. πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

