RSS Feed

The Cow post

Posted on

Cattle. Cows. Calves.

Oh, and creche!

I love the alliteration there! ๐Ÿ™‚ Bulls have no place in this specific post – Adam will have a chance next time.

I’m tempted to say: ‘Halleluya!’, because another beautiful calf was born yesterday morning, which brings the current total to eleven!!! Five heifers, and six bull babies. And a few more to come. I am smiling broadly at the moment. I do realize that something will go wrong again somewhere down the line, but I’m thoroughly enjoying our blessings and good fortune for now.

(I’m disappointed – I was going to post just a short video of the babies, but I can’t unless I buy space?!!!! ) So, not as cute but some pictures of the babes…

The Creche – Six of the babies relaxing with moms.

Babies a couple of weeks ago.

 

 

Yesterday we had to move our cattle to another camp, as they’ve munched off all the grass in the old camp. It was so funny to watch! They jogged through the gate, saw the green, green grass on the other side and dived in! Then after a few minutes, they realized it’s a whole camp of ย new, green grass and they started skipping and jumping and chasing each other around. It was so cool to watch! ๐Ÿ™‚

This cow was sick a short while ago, and when she saw the juicy grass, she stuck her head in it, and hardly came up for air! I had to laugh at the way she was just about ‘mowing’ the grass!!! I managed to draw her attention enough for her to lift her head so I could take a picture.

Ooooooh YUM!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

 

๐Ÿ™‚ ย Nearly weekend, friends, hope you’ve got wonderful plans for it!!!! ย ๐Ÿ™‚

 

 

 

 

 

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

10 responses »

  1. Love those babies! And I adore the one who was sick, and hardly came up for air! So sweet, zelmare! Your pix are so cool! I’d have loved to see them galloping and jumping around! You described it so well, I had a great picture in my mind! (what’s left of it anyway!)
    Got plans this weekend yourself? ๐Ÿ˜‰ enjoy!!!

    Reply
  2. Aw that’s awesome! I smiled and giggled at the idea of the cows skipping around because of fresh new grass. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  3. Ah, they have such lovely eyes and sweet faces. Happy Friday!

    Reply
  4. The calves look so cute. We noticed more cows down the road the other day. I think I like cows.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

