RSS Feed

Vitamins, please!

Posted on

This year is/was CRAZY.

First off, a huge move at the very end of last year, from a place I’ve lived for the last 25 years, to a place where I know hardly any people. Coping with kids in the house again (a constant headache for me…), and especially a very difficult child, who had no worries to make life as complicated and as unpleasant as he possibly could for everyone around him…

Then, becoming a ‘farmer’, learning to handle cattle and falling head over heels in love with them. πŸ™‚

The next issue was the hardest bit, as weird as it may sound…hearing from my daughter that they are planning to move to Canada, and it becoming a reality… Β And then immediately after that the fact that they are also planning to get married before they move. (Less difficult to get my head around then the Canada news…)

In the last couple of weeks we’ve had a death in the family and a memorial service for the boy that most people will remember as amazingly difficult, and then this weekend, a wedding. The lowest, and the highest one can go emotionally.

I’ve got some pics from this past (HAPPY!!!) weekend for you. Actually only an appetizer, but something to set the mood and the scene of the wedding. I didn’t take photographs of the actual wedding, as I wanted to experience every moment first hand. And there were photographers to take pictures from all sides and angles, so for the ‘real’ wedding photo’s, you’ll have to wait a bit longer. As do I…

The couple had their own, very clear ideas of what they wanted for this special day. In short, a relaxed, casual day, out in the open, with all the close friends and family having fun.

XandrΓ© busy with preparations the day before the wedding, and she still has enough energy left to be her normal, fun self. :)

XandrΓ© busy with preparations the day before the wedding, and she still has enough energy left to be her normal, fun self. πŸ™‚

The couple at the end of the day - very tired and ready to go rest up for the big day.

The couple at the end of the day – very tired and ready to go rest up for the big day.

Wedding day...Xan being pampered.

Wedding day…Xan being pampered.

The pretty, sexy heels for the wedding ceremony.

The pretty, sexy heels for the wedding ceremony.

The cute and colourful flats for the reception.

The cute and colourful flats for the reception.

And that’s all you’re getting from me at the moment. (To be honest, that’s all I’ve got at the moment… πŸ˜‰ Β )

 

Now I can admit to being tired myself, and now I can allow myself to get excited about our trip to Europe coming up. I’m so very, very grateful for my SO* that he made the decision earlier that we should go away for Christmas, because we both need a break and a change of scenery… I need to get my mind ready for the big ‘goodbye’ at the end of the year…

 

*Significant Other

 

 

 

 

 

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

10 responses »

  1. conrgats to you and Xandre

    Reply
  2. What a year you have had!! Wow! Xandre looks so happy in the pictures. I can’t wait to see more πŸ˜ƒ.

    Reply
    • Yes, but lots of people had worse, so I still need to count my blessings. πŸ™‚ She does look happy, doesn’t she? I can also not wait for the official pics. I’ll share as soon as I can! πŸ™‚

      Reply
  3. Congrats to your family… with regards to the move to Canada, just thank God that we live in the age of technology… they’ll physically be far, but they will be a skype click away πŸ™‚

    Reply
  4. I can’t wait to see more photos. I really want to see how she looked. It must have been a lovely day.

    Reply
    • I’m also very anxious to see some of the pics myself, but we might have to wait for a while. 😦 Xan and Stef left for Europe this morning, and they’re leaving for Canada straight after, so I have no idea when we’ll see pictures… I took a few of the time leading up to the ceremony, but I didn’t want to miss anything by fiddling with a camera.

      Reply
  5. What a roller coaster year. I’m glad it’s ending on such a high note. Looks like it was a beautiful wedding.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

