RSS Feed

Too little time…

Posted on

A quick ‘hallo’ a while ago, a promise to write something again, and then…nothing!

Time.

Our big friend, and our big enemy. We often have too little time to fit everything into a day that we would like to do.

Now, this evening, I find myself with a little bit of the precious commodity. And as I start writing, I know Murphy is probably lurking in the shadows, and the rest of the household will probably come home just as I am on a roll here! 🙂

I’m not going to take the time tonight to add photographs, I’ll just write as the words form in my mind.

I stopped blogging about 18 months ago, and of course, lots have happened in the meantime, and I’m also not going to try and fill you in on everything, but just whatever comes to mind.

We had our overseas trip – wonderful. Lots of snow, white Christmas, lots of places that I’ve never been to before. I know that I’ve got an insatiable hunger to travel, and I could probably travel regularly and happily for the rest of my life!

We had my daughter’s wedding, I had to say goodbye, which was one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do, but I survived that… Then the new year started, and I had to say goodbye again. This time to my oldest son. He had finished his studies the year before, and he wanted to move down to Cape Town, and start his working life there.

I’ve just been down to visit him for his birthday, and I can fortunately say that he is loving his life down there. He found a good job (eventually!), he is now close to his girlfriend (after 2 years of having a long distance relationship), he’s got new friends, and just generally doing very well. I am a happy mom, although I miss him something terrible – constantly.

And us?

Well, we now have something in the region of 170 head of cattle, and we are kept very, very busy. My SO* still has his earth moving and plant hire business as well, so between that, the farm, and the house, we are kept running. 🙂 Which is a good thing, I suppose…

That is partly why I have not been blogging, and partly because I’ve sort of just lost the passion for it, and partly just because I probably spent too much time writing, it was maybe becoming an obsession.

So let’s see if I can keep a balance this time. Write and post some pics once in a while, and not sit with the laptop on my lap all the time.

It was good chatting with you all again, although it was a bit of a ramble! 🙂

 

*Significant other

 

 

 

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

4 responses »

  1. I have slowed down on blogging too because life is always so busy, but it’s so nice to hear from you even if it’s not as often anymore. Please don’t stop :).

    Reply
  2. I’m still around too

    Reply

Leave a Reply

