RSS Feed

To plan, or not to plan…

Posted on

Somehow, very little in my life goes according to plan.

Being religious, I do believe things happen or don’t happen for a reason. And that, however much you plan, things might not go your way if your plans don’t fit in with the ‘Big Plan.’ So basically, planning doesn’t help much, except you cannot go through life without some plans – how to make a living, where to live, who to spend your life with, etc.

At the moment, I am home alone. I LOVE time alone, like most of you probably do, but sometimes the opportunity to do my own thing and be on my own, fills me with less excitement than at other times. I THINK it has to do with choice.

I love being alone when I need time to recharge, rethink, and revamp, but then I want to be able to choose that time. I am alone at the moment through absolutely no choice of my own.I HATE THAT. And when I feel like this, I find it very hard to make the most of my time alone. I feel sorry for myself instead… How pathetic is that.

Tonight is the finals of the 2014 World Cup Soccer, as you well know, and I have to watch it alone. Fun!!! 😦 Not only am I alone, but my SO is in Cape Town, and although he actually hates soccer, and has only followed the soccer through me, he is watching tonight with a house full of family and friends.

And the last bit that makes it worse tonight than it normally is – my youngest son was with me for 3 days, and I loved every single moment of it, but he had to leave today. I’m feeling so sorry for myself, you will not believe it!

If I could PLAN tonight, it would have been very different, believe me! And even then it probably would have a few twists and turns… 🙂

But hey, maybe a few glasses of wine, and I’ll feel a whole lot better! And I promise I won’t write a thing again until it’s something positive and upbeat!

About zelmare

In a nutshell: I'm a woman of 'a certain age', I recently moved after living in the same area for 27 years, i raised 3 absolutely fabulous kids (I'm sure you will hear a lot about them, since I am a very proud mama), got divorced, and in due course, met and fell in love with the most amazing man, and i moved to a small town called Nylstroom. A lot of my blogs will most probably be about my new life, my family and friends, and my interests, which are taking pictures, travelling, food, re-decorating, music and books. I am looking forward to meeting a lot of lovely new friends and interesting people! :)

5 responses »

  1. Sorry for that, my friend, I feel your pain, I am alone or at least without adult company for a very significant portion of my life atm and it sucks, I did get to go canoeing on the sea with my oldest friend and fishing buddy on the weekend though. We didn’t fish and he and all his mates we were with are royal Marines so my levels of fitness were someway lacking. It was great to be with him again though and now I’m not.

    Reply
  2. Hope you enjoyed the football and the wine though.

    Reply
    • Hi! I did enjoy the soccer – Germany won, after all!!! 🙂 Thanks for feeling with/for me, at the time it was no fun. But – I’m feeling a lot better tonight, even though I’m still alone! Good to hear from you again. 🙂

      Reply
      • I have a full house but Mrs BC and the smallest are full of flu and in bed so it’s just me and the eldest and a big bottle of homemade cider (5litre) that I need to finish before it goes off. I didn’t make it the local farmer did.

      • Sorry about the sick BC’s, and good luck with that 5 litres you are working on. A glass of red was all I could handle tonight… Maybe you should feed Mrs BC some of that cider? Sure it’ll make her feel better! 😉

Leave a Reply

